Ringwould, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Ringwould, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Ringwould, Kent
Ringwould St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Ringwould St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cornilo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover PLU
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ringwould is a village in the civil parish of Ringwould with Kingsdown in the Dover district, see Ringwould Wikipedia

Ringwould St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury.

The church dates from the 12th century with a brick tower added in 1628. The onion dome added to the tower subsequently can be used as a navigational aid by shipping in the English Channel.

William White restored the church 1867-1869.

The churchyard contains two yews trees both over 1000 years old.

The church of St Nicholas, Church Lane, Ringwould has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 29-34. Date accessed: 21 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ringwould, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[5]
Ringwould, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1569-1912 1569-1912 1562-1837; 1754-1884 (Banns) 1562-1837; 1754-1884 (Banns) 1570-1909 1570-1909
KOPC
1600-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306864.



Poor Law Unions

Dover Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

RINGSWOULD (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the cinque-port liberty and union of Dovor, though locally in the hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 6 miles (N. N. E.) from Dovor. [6]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
  6. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 668-671. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,160 times.