Ripley, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Ripley, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ripley, Surrey
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Woking
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Guildford PLU
Registration District Guildford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1740; For more records see Send
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RIPLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of Send, union of Guildford, Second division of the hundred of Woking, W. division of Surrey, 6 miles (N. E.) from Guildford. There is a place of worship for Baptists.[1]

Resources

Church records

Gotoarrow.png See also Send Parish

Online Ripley, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
.
.
1743
Indexes 1743-1865 FindMyPast[2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

  • 1664 Hearth Tax of Ripley is missing[3]

Parish History

'RIPLEY, a village, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Guild ford district, Surrey. The village stands near the river Wey, 3½ miles S E by E of Woking r. station, and 6 N E of Guild ford; and has a post-office under Woking Station, and fairs on 22 July and 11 Nov. The chapelry is in Send parish. Pop., 933. Houses, 177. The living is a vicarage, annexed to the vicarage of Send, in the diocese of Winchester. The church was mainly rebuilt in 1846; but retains the chancel of an early Englishchapel, which belonged to Newark priory. There is a national school.—The sub-district contains also therest of Send parish, and two other parishes. Acres, 8, 823. Pop., 2, 591. Houses, 481.'[4]

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012.
  3. Hearth Tax Online - free.
  4. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,694 times.