Ritchie County, West VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
West Virginia
Ritchie County
Guide to Ritchie County West Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Ritchie County, West Virginia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of West Virginia | |
![]() Location of West Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 18, 1843 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Harrisville |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Ritchie County Courthouse 115 East Main Street Room 201 Harrisville, WV 26362 Phone 304-643-2164 |
Contents |
County Courthouse
- County Clerk has birth, marriage, death probate, land, military records from 1853
- Circuit Court Clerk has divorce records
- Magisterial Court has court records[1]
History
Parent County
1843--Ritchie County was created 18 February 1843 from Wood, Harrison and Lewis Counties.
County seat: Harrisville [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Ritchie County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Ritchie County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Church
Court
Genealogy
- [McFarland] Finley, Carmen J. "The McFarlings: From Virginia to the California Gold Rush," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 44, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2000):3-12; Vol. 44, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2000):131-145; Vol. 44, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 2000):186-195; Vol. 44, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 2000):275-292. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
Military
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Ritchie County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ritchie County, West Virginia:
- - 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company C.
- - 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A and Company C.[3]
Records and histories are available, including:
- West Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865
Naturalization
West Virgina, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991
Newspapers
Probate
West Virginia Will Books
Taxation
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
Vital Records
- West Virginia Vital Records - Birth - Death - Marriages. Includes marriages 1843-1970 - free.
Societies and Libraries
Ritchie County Historical Society
200 S Church Street
Harrisville, WV 26362
Family History Centers
Web Sites
Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
![]() |
Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos. |
|---|
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ritchie County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
| This West Virginia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 April 2013, at 01:46.
- This page has been accessed 2,305 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



