Riverhead, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes


Guide to Riverhead, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Riverhead, Kent
Riverhead St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Riverhead St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Codsheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1831
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

Riverhead is a former village and now part of the built up area of Sevenoaks. The civil parish of Riverhead is in the Sevenoaks district of Kent Riverhead Wikipedia

Riverhead St Mary is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed as a chapelry in 1831 from the neighbouring Sevenoaks, Kent Ancient Parish.

The church of St Mary theVirgin was consecrated as a chapel of Ease in 1831 and was at that time within the village of Riverhead and formed part of the Diocese of Rochester. It was built upon land donated by the Amherst and Lambarde families. The church was built to the design of Decimus Burton.

The church of St Mary Riverhead has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Kent Churches website

Riverhead became absorbed into the town of Sevenoaks. The civil parish is in the Sevenoaks district of Kent.

The modern parish is united with Dunton Green.Dunton Green North West kent Family History Society which contains details of other places of worship in Dunton Green.

Here's an important historical and jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis, a well-known 19th century topographer in 1848:

"RIVERHEAD, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Codsheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 1½ mile (N. W. by N.) from Seven-Oaks. It was one of at least two chapelries and which chapelry was was erected and endowed in 1831" and was attached to the ancient parish at Seven-Oaks (St Nicholas, which also see).[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941 Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Riverhead
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records


Census returns for Sevenoaks 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

RIVERHEAD, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Codsheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 1½ mile (N. W. by N.) from Seven-Oaks. [2]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within reach of the Sevenoaks district, located adjacent to Orpington Station.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel. A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 676-679. Adapted. Date accessed: 24 May 2013.
  2. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 676-679. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 19:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,596 times.