Riverside County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to Riverside County

Guide to Riverside County California genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Riverside County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Riverside County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 11, 1893
County Seat Riverside
Courthouse
Address Riverside County Courthouse
4080 Lemon St
1 st Floor
PO Box 12004
Riverside, CA 92502
Phone: 909.486.7000

Riverside County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1893[1]

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Riverside County, California

Parent Counties

11 March 1893: Riverside County was created from San Bernardino and San Diego Counties. County seat: Riverside [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places 

Cities: Banning | Beaumont | Blythe | Calimesa | Canyon Lake | Cathedral City | Coachella | Corona | Desert Hot Springs | Eastvale | Hemet | Indian Wells | Indio | Jurupa Valley | La Quinta | Lake Elsinore | Menifee | Moreno Valley | Murrieta | Norco | Palm Desert | Palm Springs | Perris | Rancho Mirage | Riverside | San Jacinto | Temecula | Wildomar

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries 

  • Crestlawn Memorial Park, Riverside

BillionGraves

Census

For tips on accessing Riverside County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Arlington
  • Blythe
  • Elsinore
  • Hemet
  • Indio
  • Palm Springs
  • Riverside

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Aerial view Coachella Valley California.jpg

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Riverside County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps

Cariverside.png

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Riverside County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Riverside - Probate records.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums


Corona Public Library
650 S. Main Street
Corona, California 98992-3417
951-736-2386

County Courthouse

Riverside Hall of Justice
4100 Main Street, Riverside, Ca. 92501

Riverside Historic Courthouse

4050 Main Street, Riverside, Ca. 92501


Family History Centers

Historical Society Indio California.jpg



Societies

Corona Genealogical Society
Meets in the Corona Public Library


Hemet-San Jacinto Genealogical Society, Inc
P. O. Box 2516
Hemet, California 92546-2516
951-765-2372


Genealogical Society of Riverside

 P. O. Box 2557
 Riverside, CA 92516-2557

 email:  gsor@gsor.org

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Divorce

Death

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Riverside County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:28.
  • This page has been accessed 9,379 times.