Robeson County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png North CarolinaGotoarrow.png Robeson County

Guide to Robeson County North Carolina genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Robeson County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Robeson County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1670
County Seat Lumberton
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Robeson Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Government Records
Robeson County, North Carolina#Vital_Records Birth
Robeson County, North Carolina#Vital_Records Marriage
Robeson County, North Carolina#Vital_Records Death
Robeson County, North Carolina#Census Census
Robeson County, North Carolina#Land
Robeson County, North Carolina#Probate Wills
1913
1786
1913
1790
1787
1783

Robeson County Courthouse
500 N Elm Street P O Box 22
Lumberton, NC 28358
Phone: 919-671-3044

Register of Deeds has been recorded from 1913
marriage records from 1787
death records from 1915, brand land records from 1799, Clerk Superior Court has divorce, and court records from 1920 and probate records from 1868. [1]

History

Many free African American families moved to Robeson County from Virginia in the 1700s.

Parent County

1787--Robeson County was created from Bladen County. County seat: Lumberton [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Many of the court records are missing. For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncrobeson.png

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Baptist
  • Ash Pole. Organized 1796.[3]
  • First Baptist Church, Lumberton, N.C. [4]
  • Saddle Tree Creek. Constituted by 1788. [5] Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at [6]
Presbyterian
  • [Book] [7] Enter into his gates history of the First Presbyterian Church, Maxton, North Carolina, 1878-1958. [8] - available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library
  • [Book][9] Year book and directory of the Rowland Presbyterian Church, Rowland, N.C - available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library

Court

Education

  • [10] Robeson County College Students; a name list of students at various NC colleges with identified hometowns in the county; via NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
  • [11] Flora McDonald College yearbooks - from 1921-1961; via the Internet Archive
  • [12] Students Yearbooks. Presbyterian Junior College yearbooks

- from the mid 1930s - 1960s; via the Internet Archive

  • [13] UNC-Pembroke yearbooks- from the 1940s to the 1980s; via the Internet Archive
  • [Book] [14] Flora McDonald College - published by Ralph Walter Page in 1920.

Genealogy

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography

Land

  • [15] Misc county deeds- transcriptions submitted to the NCGenWeb Archives.

Local Histories

Maps

  • [16]Maps of Robeson County - online map images via the NC Maps collection.

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Robeson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies and regiments that were formed with many men from Robeson County.

51st Regiment, North Carolina Militia Company F
- 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 1st Company D
:- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company E
:- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
:- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Nathaniel McLean's Company
:- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Neill McNeill's Company

Newspapers

  • [17] Newspapers published in Robeson County - a listing of newspapers published in the county libraries that hold them; via the Library of Congress.
  • [18] Misc. newspaper articles - submitted to the NCGenWeb Archives
  • [19] Robeson County residents in the newspaper - name listing of people from the county as located in misc. newspaper articles; time span varies. Articles indexed in the NC People in the Papers database.

Probate

  • 1783-1966 - [21] Bonds and records (North Carolina), 1736-1957 have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
  • [22] Misc. Robeson County wills - transcriptions submitted to the NCGenWeb Archives

Taxation

Vital Records

Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds. Please [23] Durham County visit their website for more information.

Births
  • [24] North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964 - search this name index to birth, baptism and christening records from the state; via FamilySearch.
Marriages
  • 1850-1944 - Robeson County Marriage Index 1850-1944 in [25]IGI at FamilySearch - free.[26]
  • [27] Robeson County Marriages- via NCGenWeb
  • [28] Misc. Robeson County Marriages - submitted by users to the NCGenWeb Archives
  • [29] North Carolina Marriages, 1762-1979 - search this database of marriages from across the state - images included; via FamilySearch [30] Robeson County marriages - may be included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
Deaths
  • [31] ;Misc. Robeson County Obituaries - via the Durham County NCGenWeb Archives
  • [32] North Carolina Death Certificates, 1906-1930 - search a statewide collection of freely available death certificates - images are included; via FamilySearch
  • [33] North Carolina Deaths & Burials, 1898-1994 - search death records from across the state; via FamilySearch

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Robeson County, North Carolina. Page 512
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 Chapter 16. Digital version at" St Paul's Seminary website "Ashpole Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, accessed 22 October 2012.
  4. First Baptist Church, Lumberton, North Carolina; one hundred years of Christian witnessing, 1855-1955 available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library
  5. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:491.
  6. http://stpaulsseminary.com/Sophomore%20Year/Department%20of%20History/Ecclesiastical%20History/First%20Semester/Baptist%20History/Baptist%20History%20Collection/LIBRARY/Lesson%2021.PDF" _fcksavedurl= stpaulsseminary.com] St Paul's Seminary website.fckLR
  7. digital.lib.ecu.
  8. ncmarkers.com
  9. digital.lib.ecu.
  10. ncgenweb-data.com
  11. archive.org
  12. archive.org
  13. archive.org
  14. digital.lib.ecu
  15. usgwarchives.net
  16. dc.lib.unc.edu
  17. chroniclingamerica
  18. [http://www.usgwarchives.net/nc/robeson/robesonnews.htm usgwarchives.net}
  19. ncgenweb-data.com
  20. mars.archives.ncdcr.gov
  21. Bonds and records (North Carolina), 1736-1957
  22. usgwarchives.net
  23. durhamcountync
  24. North Carolina Births and Christenings, 1866-1964
  25. International Genealogical Index
  26. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at familysearch.org familysearch.org
  27. http://ncgenweb.us/robeson/vital.htm Robeson County Marriages]
  28. usgwarchives.net
  29. familysearch.org
  30. Robeson County marriages
  31. usgwarchives.net
  32. familysearch.org
  33. familysearch.org
  34. ncgenweb.us

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 June 2014, at 02:04.
  • This page has been accessed 12,246 times.