Rocester, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Rocester, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rocester, Staffordshire
Rocester St Michael Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Uttoxeter PLU
Registration District Uttoxeter
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Uttoxeter
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rocester St Michael is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire.  Other places in the parish include: Combridge, Denstone, Stubwood, Rocester Green, and Quixhill.

ROCESTER (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford,  4½ miles(N. by E.)  from Uttoxeter. There are places of worship for Baptists and Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rocester St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
HATHI = Hathi Trust - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
ROCESTER ST MICHAEL PARISH (1565) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1565-1812
1565-1812
1565-1812
FS 1565-1868
1565-1847

HATHI 1565-1705
1565-1705
1565-1705
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1564-1812 Mar 1564-1812 Bur 1564-1812 Post 1812 registers are with incumbent the church.
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1674-1868 Mar 1674-1842 Bur 1674-1868 Missing Bap/Bur 181848-1850, 1853-1855

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474631.

Poor Law Unions

Uttoxeter Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Rocester/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 679-686. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,111 times.