Rochdale St Chad, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries
Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire
St Chad Rochdale.JPG
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg; Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Rochdale; Todmorden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Part of this parish is in Yorkshire. See also Rochdale St Chad, Yorkshire.

Parish History

ROCHDALE St Chad, a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, but partly in the Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 10½ miles north by northeast of Manchester.[1]

Rochdale St Chad Parish, serving a population of nearly one hundred thousand (by 1851), was not the only church built within its boundary. St Chad's parish boundary was divided up into about twenty chapelry districts, each with is own chapel of ease (or church), with baptism and burial registers (rarely marriages--which instead were usually performed at the ancient parish of St Chad's, Rochdale), standing within its parish boundary. Be certain to see the Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries in order to identify its chapels and the availability of all their registers which covered this ancient parish. Identifying all of St Chad's chapels will greatly facilitate thorough research in this parish.

For a list of other places within the boundary of this parish, view an excellent 1870 historical summary of Rochdale at VisionofBritain

Resources

Cemeteries

The Family History Library's British collection has monumental transcriptions of Hawkshead parish and for the Society of Friends old burial ground.

Civil Registration of Births, Marriages & Deaths - 1837 to the Present

Read about England Civil Registration (vital records) of birth, marriages and deaths on the England main page.

Online Indexes

There are two separate (free) indexes available for Lancashire civil registration of births, marriages and deaths. One index covers all registrations nation-wide, and one index covers the copies of the local registration districts' certificate copies for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, as follows:

  • FreeBMD - an online (free) nation-wide index to the certificates held at the General Registrar's Office, formerly in London, now in Solihull, Merseyside, UK. The years currently covered in this index include July, 1837 to at least 1940.
  • LancashireBMD - an online index (free) to county-wide births, marriages and deaths for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, for the following range of years and their events: births 1837-1974; marriages 1837-2010; deaths 1837-1975.
  • Lancashire-OPC.org.uk (below) provides numerous parish and chapel transcriptions online (free) running concurrent with the post-1837 to 1910 period. While the parish registers are not certified copies of the civil certificates of birth and death, they do however, often provide primary source birth (baptisms/christenings) and death (burials) information; of especial note are the post-1837 parish marriage registers which provide an exact replica of the civil registration certificates of marriages.

Indexes

FamilySearch's Family History Library British collections holds the quarterly indexes of births, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to 1983 in microform media.

Church Records

Online Records 

St Chad Rochdale parish has been a very populated township possessing about 20 or more chapelries, and district churches each with church registers. There are online transcriptions for St Chad Rochdale Parish, and for the baptism, marriage and burial registers of many of its attached chapelries lying within its boundary. Displayed below are those chapelries attached to St Chad ancient parish) along with the ranges of years for which there is available online data at the web sites indicated below: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
GENGLD = Gengold.co.uk
GLUK = GenealogyLinksUK
HATH = Hathi Trust Digital Library
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
TODWLS = Todmorden and Walsden Website

ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616
AC 1582-1812 1582-1812 1582-1812
AC 1813-1894 1754-1898 1813-1896
ROCHDALE ST MARY (BAUM CHAPEL) CEMETERY (1742) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
LOPC 1802-1836 None 1826-1836
ROCHDALE ST ALBANS Chapelry (1856) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1856-1915 1856-1930
LBMD None 1856-1925 None

ROCHDALE ST PAUL PARISH (1755) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1755-1812 1755-1812 1755-1812
AC 1813-1914 1836-1930 1813-1938
BUTTERWORTH ST JAMES (MILNROW) Chapelry (1715) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1715-1812 1715-1812 1715-1812
AC 1813-1914 1838-1930 1813-1936
FS 1582-1801 1582-1802 1799-1863, 1867-1885
LOPC 1715-1851 None 1799-1848
LBMD 1837-1901 1838-1925 1837-1901
CASTLETON ST MARTIN Chapelry (1858) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1858-1897 None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1901 1863-1974 1837-1936
DOBCROSS HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (YORKS) (1787) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1880-1894 1845-1910 1813-1977
FS 1787-1843 1855-1910 1788-1897 
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1845-1974 None
FRIARMERE ST THOMAS Chapelry (1767) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1769-1812 1769-1812 1769-1812
AC 1813-1914 1845-1930 1813-1985
FS 1767-1910 1845-1892 1788-1846
LBMD None 1845-1974 None
FRIEZLAND Chapelry (YORKS) (1848) Indexes  (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1849-1915 1850-1889 1850-1934
FS 1849-1910 1850-1889  1868-1935 
LBMD None 1845-1974 None
GREENFIELD ST THOMAS Chapelry (1874) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
HEY (or CHURCH LEES) ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1743) Indexes - partly in Ashton under Lyne
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1743-1812 1743-1812 1743-1812
AC 1813-1913 1860-1930 1813-1887
FMP None None 1744-1887
FS 1743-1821  1860-1892  1788-1846 
LOPC None None 1867-1887
HEALEY CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1847) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1847-1915 1850-1930 1850-1981
FS 1847-1910 1848-1935  1850-1993
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1850-1974 None
LITTLEBOROUGH HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1741) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1758-1812 1758-1812 1758-1812
AC 1813-1914 1838-1930
FS 1715-1758; 1840-1904 None  None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1838-1935 None
LYDGATE ST ANN'S Chapelry (1788) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1788-1812 1788-1812 1788-1812
AC 1813-1915 1845-1908 1813-1952
FS 1788-1818 None 1788-1817
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1845-1974  None
MILNROW ST JAMES (BUTTERWORTH) - see under BUTTERWORTH


SADDLEWORTH ST CHAD Chapelry (168 ) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1632-1812 1632-1812 1632-1812
AC 1813-1888 1754-1930 1813-1886
FS 1613-1846 1613-1837 1800-1827
HATH 1613-1751 1613-1751 1613-1751
HATH 1751-1800 1751-1800 1751-1800
JOIN None 1613-1751 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1901 1837-1974 None
SMALLBRIDGE ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1834) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1834-1850 None 1848-1857
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1901 1838-1925 1837-1901
AC None None None
 SPOTLAND ST CLEMENT Chapelry (1835) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1835-1894 1837-1892 1835-1864
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1901 1837-1974 1837-1953
AC  None None None
TODMORDEN ST MARY Chapelry (1624) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1624-1824 1669-1831 1744-1825
LOPC 1628-1633; 1670-1740 1669-1812 1628-1633;1670-1741
AC 1670-1812 1670-1812 1670-1812
GLUK 1781-1857 (part.) 1822-1838;1844-1874 (part.) 1666-1904 (part.)
TODWLS 1680-1901 (part.) 1680-1901 (part.) 1680-1901 (part.)
TODMORDEN CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1834) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
GLUK None 1822-1838;1844-1874 None
TUNSTEAD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1840-1905 1858-1930
LOPC 1843-1848 None None
LBMD None 1858-1983 None
WALSDEN ST PETER Chapelry (1845) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1878-1914 1848-1900 1848-1900
TODWLS 1845-1878 (part.) 1845-1878 (part.) 1845-1878 (part.)
LOPC None None None
WARDLE WITH WUERDLE ST JAMES Chapelry (1859) Indexes - see also SMALLBRIDGE ST JOHN
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1858-1914 1859-1930 1858-1985
LBMD None 1859-1925 None
WARLDEWORTH ST JAMES Chapelry (1821) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1821-1900 1822-1930
FS 1821-1874  1822-1860 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1895-1937
WARDLEWORTH ST MARY Chapelry (1700) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1827-1914 1850-1930 1827-1855
FS

1700-1734, 1749-1780, 1783-1789, 1791-1798, 1812-1873

1749-1776;1791-1870 1673-1855
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1940 1859-1925 1837-1953
WHITWORTH ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1753) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1763-1812 1763-1812 1763-1812
AC 1813-1915 1845-1928 1813-1956
FS 1759-1840 None 1784-1797;1813-1840
LOPC 1758-1851 None 1784-1851
LBMD 1837-1953 1845-1969 1837-1895
UKLK 1895-1937 None 1800-1900's


Original Records 
Most of St Chad's original parish registers and its attched chapelries and their registers are found at the Manchester Central Library Local Studies Unit, Lancashire, England, or, a few may still be in local custody (held at the local chapel).

While a few of the above chapelries and St Chad's parish burial registers do not currently have online indexed content, FamilySearch does have microfilm copies of the original Bishop's transcripts and/or parish registers for most of Rochdale's chapels of ease and churches. These may be circulated to and searched at any of its 4600 FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee ($) or free.

  • FamilySearch now has all of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

The Family History Library has an 1851 census surname index of Lancashire - Rochdale, Butterworth & Castleton subdistricts: Public Redords Office ref HO 107/2244. FHL British Book 942.72 X22c v 21 and on FHL British Microfiche 6414326

Genealogy

French, Jenny.  Woodhead of Newbiggin (Northumberland) and Shawforth Valley.  A Pedigree of the Woodheads dating from 1779-1975, withother surnames Jackson, Eastwood, Abramm, Halliwell, Downie, Hedley, French, Hardman, and Woodward,  to be found in The Lancashire Family and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 11, no. 2, page 26-27, May 1990, Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r vol. 11.

Hornby, Michael J. K. Direct Descendants of James Hornby. Family Tree of James Hornby and Alice Mills - she was born in Rochdale, Lancashire, and their descendants which scatter throughout Lancashire, then to Ontario, Canada from about 1910, with the following surnames. Barlow, Harrison, Hargrave, Showell, Drovin, Burkett, Johnston,  Family Tree dates from 1799-1995, and is in Lancashire Family and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 18, no.2. May 1997, FHL 942.72 B2r.

Dania, Vivien Mrs.  The Danias of Rochdale.  History and family tree of James Danias and Hannah surname unknown. with the following surnames listed on the tree:  Holt, Sagar, Tweedale, Thomlinson, Smith, Wilson, Fitter, Thornton, Bamford, Meadowcroft, Bennet, Howorth, Lees dating from 1837-1982.  Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 6,no.1. pages 18-20, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r 

Whatmough of Rochdale, Bacup, and Manchester.  Family tree of Edmund Wattmoe of Packer died 1689, wife unknown, with the following surnames, Wattmough, Hollows, Bamfour, Cleggswood, Whatmough, Robinson, Whitworth, Beard, Shackleton, Worsley Smethurst, Worsley and Morley, dated 1689-1938 in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 5, no. 2. pages 18-19, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions

Rochdale Parish was the head of a poor law union.

Probate records with indexes are available for Hawkshead Parish

Go to the Lancashire Probate Records and follow the step by step instructions to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction and search the records.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 679-686.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 August 2014, at 00:05.
  • This page has been accessed 13,249 times.