Rochdale St Chad, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Rochdale

See a Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries

Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries

Guide to Rochdale St Chad, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rochdale St Chad, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg; Salford
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Rochdale PLU
Registration District Rochdale; Todmorden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

For more information and records see Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire.

Parish History

Rochdale is an Ancient Parish mostly in Lancashire and partly in Yorkshire.

ROCHDALE (St. Chad), a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, but partly in the Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, West Riding of Yorkshire, 10.5 miles north by northeast of Manchester; 50 miles southeast from Lancaster. In Rochdale Town are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Presbyterians, Unitarians, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, the Wesleyan Methodists Association, the Society of Friends, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Rochdale had at least 20 smaller Church of England chapels of ease (chapelries), and district chapelries attached to it. See the "Church Records" section below for a more thorough list of these churches.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

St Chad Rochdale parish has been a very populated township possessing about 20 or more chapelries, and district churches each with church registers. There are online transcriptions for St Chad Rochdale Parish, and for the baptism, marriage and burial registers of many of its attached chapelries lying within its boundary. Displayed below are those chapelries attached to St Chad ancient parish) along with the ranges of years for which there is available online data at the web sites indicated below: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
GENGLD = Gengold.co.uk
GLUK = GenealogyLinksUK
HATH = Hathi Trust Digital Library
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
TODWLS = Todmorden and Walsden Website

ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1582-1894 1582-1898  None
LOPC 1642-1835 1582-1898 1582-1837;1862-1896
LBMD None 1837-1940 None
AC  1582-1616 1701-1801 1582-1616
AC 1582-1812 1582-1812 1582-1812
AC 1813-1894 1754-1898 1813-1896
ROCHDALE ST MARY (BAUM CHAPEL) CEMETERY (1742) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
LOPC 1802-1836 None 1826-1836
ROCHDALE ST ALBANS Chapelry (1856) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1856-1915 1856-1930
LBMD None 1856-1925 None

ROCHDALE ST PAUL PARISH (1755) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1755-1812 1755-1812 1755-1812
AC 1813-1914 1836-1930 1813-1938
BUTTERWORTH ST JAMES (MILNROW) Chapelry (1715) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1715-1812 1715-1812 1715-1812
AC 1813-1914 1838-1930 1813-1936
FS 1582-1801 1582-1802 1799-1863, 1867-1885
LOPC 1715-1851 None 1799-1848
LBMD 1837-1901 1838-1925 1837-1901
CASTLETON ST MARTIN Chapelry (1858) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1858-1897 None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1901 1863-1974 1837-1936
DOBCROSS HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (YORKS) (1787) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1880-1894 1845-1910 1813-1977
FS 1787-1843 1855-1910 1788-1897 
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1845-1974 None
FRIARMERE ST THOMAS Chapelry (1767) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1769-1812 1769-1812 1769-1812
AC 1813-1914 1845-1930 1813-1985
FS 1767-1910 1845-1892 1788-1846
LBMD None 1845-1974 None
FRIEZLAND Chapelry (YORKS) (1848) Indexes  (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1849-1915 1850-1889 1850-1934
FS 1849-1910 1850-1889  1868-1935 
LBMD None 1845-1974 None
GREENFIELD ST THOMAS Chapelry (1874) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
HEY (or CHURCH LEES) ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1743) Indexes - partly in Ashton under Lyne
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1743-1812 1743-1812 1743-1812
AC 1813-1913 1860-1930 1813-1887
FMP None None 1744-1887
FS 1743-1821  1860-1892  1788-1846 
LOPC None None 1867-1887
HEALEY CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1847) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1847-1915 1850-1930 1850-1981
FS 1847-1910 1848-1935  1850-1993
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1850-1974 None
LITTLEBOROUGH HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1741) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1758-1812 1758-1812 1758-1812
AC 1813-1914 1838-1930
FS 1715-1758; 1840-1904 None  None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1838-1935 None
LYDGATE ST ANN'S Chapelry (1788) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1788-1812 1788-1812 1788-1812
AC 1813-1915 1845-1908 1813-1952
FS 1788-1818 None 1788-1817
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1845-1974  None
MILNROW ST JAMES (BUTTERWORTH) - see under BUTTERWORTH


SADDLEWORTH ST CHAD Chapelry (168 ) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1632-1812 1632-1812 1632-1812
AC 1813-1888 1754-1930 1813-1886
FS 1613-1846 1613-1837 1800-1827
HATH 1613-1751 1613-1751 1613-1751
HATH 1751-1800 1751-1800 1751-1800
JOIN None 1613-1751 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1901 1837-1974 None
SMALLBRIDGE ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1834) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1834-1850 None 1848-1857
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1901 1838-1925 1837-1901
AC None None None
 SPOTLAND ST CLEMENT Chapelry (1835) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1835-1894 1837-1892 1835-1864
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1901 1837-1974 1837-1953
AC  None None None
TODMORDEN ST MARY Chapelry (1624) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1624-1824 1669-1831 1744-1825
LOPC 1628-1633; 1670-1740 1669-1812 1628-1633;1670-1741
AC 1670-1812 1670-1812 1670-1812
GLUK 1781-1857 (part.) 1822-1838;1844-1874 (part.) 1666-1904 (part.)
TODWLS 1680-1901 (part.) 1680-1901 (part.) 1680-1901 (part.)
TODMORDEN CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1834) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
GLUK None 1822-1838;1844-1874 None
TUNSTEAD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1840) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1840-1905 1858-1930
LOPC 1843-1848 None None
LBMD None 1858-1983 None
WALSDEN ST PETER Chapelry (1845) Indexes (Yorks.)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1878-1914 1848-1900 1848-1900
TODWLS 1845-1878 (part.) 1845-1878 (part.) 1845-1878 (part.)
LOPC None None None
WARDLE WITH WUERDLE ST JAMES Chapelry (1859) Indexes - see also SMALLBRIDGE ST JOHN
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1858-1914 1859-1930 1858-1985
LBMD None 1859-1925 None
WARLDEWORTH ST JAMES Chapelry (1821) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1821-1900 1822-1930
FS 1821-1874  1822-1860 None
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1937 None 1895-1937
WARDLEWORTH ST MARY Chapelry (1700) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1827-1914 1850-1930 1827-1855
FS

1700-1734, 1749-1780, 1783-1789, 1791-1798, 1812-1873

1749-1776;1791-1870 1673-1855
LOPC None None None
LBMD 1837-1940 1859-1925 1837-1953
WHITWORTH ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1753) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1763-1812 1763-1812 1763-1812
AC 1813-1915 1845-1928 1813-1956
FS 1759-1840 None 1784-1797;1813-1840
LOPC 1758-1851 None 1784-1851
LBMD 1837-1953 1845-1969 1837-1895
UKLK 1895-1937 None 1800-1900's

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 679-686. Date accessed: 25 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,355 times.