Rochester Castle Precincts, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Rochester Castle Precincts, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rochester Castle Precincts, Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochester City
County Kent
Poor Law Union Medway PLU
Registration District Medway
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROCHESTER, an ancient city and port, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Medway, locally in the lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 8½ miles (N.) from Maidstone, and 29 (E. S. E.) from London, on the road to Dovor; The castle was besieged (several times). The Cathedral is a fine specimen of the early English style. The city comprises the parishes of St. Margaret and St. Nicholas,with that of St. Clement. Here are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Medway Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rochester Castle Precincts
Family History Library film numbers is a generic heading given by the Family History Library for the Rochester film holdings in the Library. There is no specific reference to the precincts.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306883.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 679-686. Date accessed: 25 May 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 19:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,051 times.