Rochester St Margaret, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Rochester St Margaret, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rochester St Margaret, Kent
Rochester St Margaret Kent.jpg
Rochester St Margaret Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rochester City
County Kent
Poor Law Union Medway PLU
Registration District Medway
Records begin
Parish registers: 1639
Bishop's Transcripts: 1718
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rochester is a town and former city in Kent for a history of Rochester see History of Rochester Wikipedia

Rochester St Margaret is an Ancient Parish in the city and Diocese of Rochester; a map of the modern parish boundary is available at A church near you

The Parish Church of St Margaret of Antioch Rochester has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

For a history of the church see St Margaret Rochester Wikipedia.

St Peter's and St Margaret's were recombined into a joint parish in 1953 and in 1971 the parish of St Nicholas with St Clement was absorbed into it. The combined parish is now "The Parish of St Peter with St Margaret" centred on the new (1973) Parish Centre in the Delce (St Peter's) with St Margaret's being retained as a Chapel of Ease.

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 153-182. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See Rochester North West Kent Family History Society and Rochester St Margaret

From this parish was formed in 1901 the parish of Borstal St Matthew. The church of St Matthew, Borstal Street Borstal had been built in 1878 see Borstal Rochester Wikipedia and a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you

Resources

Civil Registration

Medway Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rochester St Margaret, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[4]
Rochester St Margaret, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1718-1866
1718-1833

FREG 1813-1828, 1951-1954


FS BTs 1718-1866 1718-1866 1718-1866
MED 1653-1983 1653-1983 1653-1983

Rochester St Margaret of Antioch Baptisms marriages and Burials 1653-1983 reference P305 digital images may be searched online at Medway Archives City Ark project http://cityark.medway.gov.uk

International Genealogical Index Christenings 1718-1812 Batch (C135121) Marriages 1813-1833 Batch
(M165123)

Family History Library film numbers
Rochester St Margaret

Borstal St Matthew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Borstal St Matthew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1878-1969
1902-1954

MED 1879-1969 1902-1954

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

Census Returns for Rochester 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Medway Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 20:00.
  • This page has been accessed 2,013 times.