Rock Ferry, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Rock Ferry

Guide to Rock Ferry, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History


Rock-Ferry, is a village and a chapelry in Bebington parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the river Mersey, and on the Birkenhead, there is a railway station, and a half-hourly steam-boat-ferry to Liverpool. The chapelry incules also the village and iron pier of New Ferry, and was constitued in1844. The church was built in 1842. A Wesleyan chapel is at Rock-Ferry; and a Brethren's chapel at New-Ferry.[1]

Rock Ferry is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1844 from Bebington Ancient Parish.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church records

Rock Ferry St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Parish St Peter Online (1844) Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1871-1919
1844-1901

FS PR's 1844-1912
  NONE
1844-1934
  NONE
1844-1961
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE   NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

Non Conformist Churches

  • Wesleyan
  • Brethren's

Non-Conformist records:

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at theFamily History Library in Salt Lake City.

Church records for the Trinity Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, New Chester Road, Rock-Ferry, 1859-1956
FHLFilm
Baptisms, 1859-1928. Marriages, 1867-1956.
BRITISH  2299475 Items 14 - 21

Church records for the Wesley Hall Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Rock-Ferry, 1894-1953

FHLFilm
Baptisms, 1894-1953.
BRITISH 2299475 Item 22

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Wirral (1894-1898)

Poor Law Unions

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Birkenhead Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,270 times.