Rock Island County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Rock Island County
Guide to Rock Island County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Rock Island County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | February 9, 1831 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Rock Island |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Rock Island County Courthouse 1504 Third Avenue Rock Island, Illinois 61201 (309) 558-3570 Rock Island Website |
Rock Island County Organization
Rock Island County's civil records start the following years:
| Beginning Dates for Rock Island County Records | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1861 |
1833 |
1877 |
1840 |
1835 |
1835 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Rock Island County are kept, see the Rock Island County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Rock Island is named for the largest island in the Mississippi River formerly known as Rock Island, but now is called Arsenal Island. [1]
Parent County
- 1831--Rock Island County was created 9 February 1831 from Jo Daviess County. County seat: Rock Island [2]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Rock Island County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Records and Resources
Biography
- The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Rock Island County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Rock Island County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
Cemeteries
Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
Published Records
- The Family History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Rock Island County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
Online Gravestone Transcriptions
- Rock Island County ILGenWeb. See the "Cemetery Data" folder for more information about Rock Island County cemeteries and tombstone transcriptions.
- Find A Grave.com has burial information for nearly 100 Rock Island County cemeteries. For a complete list of cemeteries, click Here.
- GenealogyTrails.com. Has a list of Rock Island County Cemeteries and links to cemetery transcriptions.
- Illinois Ancestors Tombstone Project. Find or submit Rock Island County tombstone photos.
- Illinois Tombstone Transcription Project. Get accesss to online cemetery transcriptions for Rock Island County Cemeteries.
- Interment.net. Contains links to Rock Island County Cemetery Records online.
- Linkpendium. Has links to several Rock Island County Cemetery related websites.
Cemetery Gazetters
- Epodunk has a list of Rock Island County Cemeteries. The website provides name of cemetery, address and telephone number when available, Google Map with cemetery marker, and other helpful Internet links.
- The Illinois State Genealogical Society's "Cemetery Location Project" has identified many Rock Island County Cemeteries.
Census
Church Records
Church records may give birth, death and marriage information as well as indictate family relationships. See Illinois state wiki article Church Records for more ideas about how to use church records in your research. Many libraries( WorldCat) and the Family History Library hold abstracts of church records for Rock Island County. Learn more about how to search WorldCat.
- The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Rock Island County edition. Church information can be found in the township histories beginning on page 939. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.
- 1936–1942 Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints membership FHL film 215443 Item 1
Court Records
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed through the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Rock Island County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of original records
- 1833–1887 Circuit Court Record IRAD–WIU
- 1834–1902 Circuit Court Case Files IRAD–WIU
- 1842–1890 Circuit Court Record, Chancery IRAD–WIU FHL film 1688958–62, item 1
- 1853–1947 Insanity proceedings case file IRAD–WIU
- 1858–1869 Justice of the Peace Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1858–1870 Justice of the peace court record FHL film 1688942
- 1916–1951 Feeble-Minded Case files IRAD–WIU
Online Resources
- Rock Island county Court Records courtesy USGenWeb Archives Illinois.
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy
History
Local Histories
- The Past and Present of Rock Island County, Ill. : containing a history of the county, its cities, towns, &c., a biographical directory of its citizens, war record of its volunteers in the late rebellion, portraits of early settlers and prominent men, general and local statistics, map of Rock Island County, history of Illinois, Constitution of the United States, miscellaneous matters, etc., etc.. Chicago: H.F. Kett & Co., 1877. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Portrait and Biographical Album of Rock Island County, Illinois: containing full-page portraits and biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county : together with portraits and biographies of all the governors of Illinois, and of the presidents of the United States : also containing a history of the county, from its earliest settlement to the present time. Chicago: Biographical Pub. Co., 1885. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- The Biographical record of Rock Island County, Illinois. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Pub. Co., 1897. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Meese, William A. Early Rock Island. Moline, Ill.: Press of Desaulniers & Co., 1905. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Historic Rock Island County : history of the settlement of Rock Island County from the earliest known period to the present time : embracing references of importance, and including a biography of Rock Island County's well-known citizens. Rock Island, Ill.: Kramer & Co., 1908. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Rock Island County. Chicago: Munsell Pub. Co., 1914. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- The Early Day of Rock Island and Davenport: The Narratives of J.W. Spencer and J.M.D. Burrows. Chicago: Lakeside Press, R.R. Donnelley & Sons Co., 1942. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Rock Island County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Copies of original records
- 1835–1912 Grantor and Grantee index FHL first film 1392726 (first of 17 films)
- 1835–1927 Deed records FHL first film 1415934(first of 52 films)
- 1835–1895 Deed and Mortgage index IRAD–WIU
- 1837–1841 Entry books IRAD–WIU
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Rock Island County land and property may be found in the FHLC. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- Rock Island County Federal Township Plats
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Rock Island County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Rock Island County.
- - 4th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company M.
- - 9th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company A.
- - 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 12th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company D.
- - 13th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 14th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- - 17th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company L.
- - 19th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 37th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and H.
- - 43rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- - 45th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 51st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 58th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- - 65th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (Scotch Regiment), Company B.
- - 66th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.
- - 71st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 89th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- - 93rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- - 126th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, E, G, H and I.
- - 129th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- - 132nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company H.
- - 140th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company G.
Naturalization
Original naturalization records are held in the office of the County Clerk. See Illinois Naturalization Records for more information about using naturalization records.
The following copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Rock Island County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the WIU IRAD Wiki page.
Online Resources
- 1872–1962A naturalization index for Rock Island County is available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Rock Island County, and select the record type you are interested in.
- 1872–1878 Some declarations of intentions for Rock Island County are available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Rock Island County, and select the record type you are interested in.
- PA to Rock Island County, Illinois courtesy of the Past at www.roostweb.com;
Original records
- 1937–1959 Repatriation Record IRAD–WIU
- 1842–1962 Naturalization Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1854–1864 Naturalization Record of Minors IRAD–WIU
- 1854–1898 Naturalization Record, Final IRAD–WIU
- 1854–1962 Naturalization Declarations of Intent IRAD–WIU
- 1860–1883 Naturalization Record IRAD–WIU
- 1865–1899 Naturalization Record of Soldiers and Minors IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1906 Naturalization Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1883 Naturalization Record IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1906 Naturalization Record, Final IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1906 Naturalization Declarations of Intent IRAD–WIU
- 1896–1906 Naturalization Record of Minors IRAD–WIU
- 1906–1962 Naturalization Petition Record IRAD–WIU
- 1910–1962 Naturalization Card File Index IRAD–WIU
- 1918 Naturalization Petition Record of Soldiers IRAD–WIU
- 1930–1962 Naturalization Order Books IRAD–WIU
Newspapers and Obituaries
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Rock Island County records. For information on how to use IRAD see theWIU IRAD Wiki page.
Online Resources
- Rock Island County Probate Case Files Index, 1834-1899, courtesy: Illinois State Archives.
- 1837–1923 The guardianship records, probate index, and wills for Rock Island County probate records are also available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970. Click on the browse through images link, select Rock Island County, and select the record type you are interested in.
Copies of original records
- 1834–1900 Probate Case Files IRAD–WIU
- 1834–1959 Estate case files FHL first film 1822930 Item 2 (first of 161 films
- 1835–1876 Probate records and related materials FHL first film 1688964 (first of 5 films)
- 1835–1900 Probate Record IRAD–WIU
- 1837–1934 Will records FHL first film 1392618 Item 2(first of 11 films)
- 1837–1922 Probate Will Record IRAD–WIU
- 1839–1859 Probate Administrator's and Executor's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1839–1841 Probate Administrator's and Guardian's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1849–1865 Probate Inventory, Appraisement and Sale Record IRAD–WIU
- 1850–1888 Probate Sale Record, Real Estate IRAD–WIU
- 1850–1880 Probate Accounts Current Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1902 Probate Administrator's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1876 Probate Claim Dockets IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1925 Guardian's record FHL first film 1392615(first of 4 films)
- 1859–1894 Probate Executor's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1894 Probate Guardian's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1906 Probate Inventory Record IRAD–WIU
- 1859–1902 Probate Sale Record, Personal Property IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1914 Probate Inventory Record, Guardians IRAD–WIU
- 1872–1930 Probate Inventory Record, Copartnership IRAD–WIU
- 1880–1903 Probate Appraisement Record IRAD–WIU
- 1882–1913 Probate Widow's Relinquishment and Selection Record IRAD–WIU
- 1885–1901 Probate Guardian's Report Record IRAD–WIU
- 1893–1920 Probate Conservator's Record IRAD–WIU
- 1908–1983 Probate index IRAD–WIU FHL first film 1379251(first of 8 films)
- 1910–1934 Probate Administrator's Record with Will Annexed IRAD–WIU
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Rock Island County probates may be found in the Illinois, Rock Island – Probate topic page of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Rock Island County are kept, see the Rock Island County Courthouse page.
Family History Center
There are over 4500 Family History Centers in more than 80 countries offering public access to genealogical records from all over the world. Family History Centers provide patrons with access to over a billion online records and approximately 2.5 million circulating microfilms. Centers are staffed by local volunteers who are eager to provide genealogical research assistance. Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Rock Island County. To find the nearest Family History Center, check out the Family Search Centers page on the FamilySearch.org website.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Western Illinois University houses the records for Rock Island County.
Public Libraries
Andalusia Township Library
503 2nd Ave. W.
Andalusia, IL 61232
Tel: 309-798-2542
Cordova District Library
402 Main Ave P.O. Box 247
Cordova, IL 61242
Tel: 309-654-2330
Facebook
East Moline Public Library
740 16th Ave.
East Moline, IL 61244
Tel: 309-755-9614
Fax: 309-755-3901
Email: emp@empl.lib.il.us
Moline Public Library
3210 41st Street
Moline, IL 61265
Tel: 309-524-2440
Fax: 309-524-2453
Facebook
Moore Memorial Library District
509 Main Street
Hillsdale, IL 61257
Tel: 309-658-2666
Facebook
River Valley District Library
214 S. Main St.
Port Byron, IL 61275
Tel: 309-523-3440
Fax: 309-523-3516
Email: rivervalley5@mchsi.com
Facebook
Robert R. Jones Public Library District
2210 First Street
Coal Valley, IL 61240
Tel: 309-799-3047
Email: library@robertrjoneslibrary.org
Rock Island Public Library
401 19th Street
Rock Island, IL 61201
Tel: 309-732-7323
Facebook
Silvis Public Library
105 8th Street
Silvis, IL 61282
Tel: 309-755-3393
Fax: 309-755-1816
Email: information@silvisil.org
Social Groups Online
Societies
Hampton Historical Society
601 1st Avenue
Hampton, IL 61256
Tel: 309-755-0362
Email: hamptonwells@mchsi.com
Rock Island Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 3912
Rock Island, IL 61204-3912
Email: ricigs@speedconnect.com
The collection of the Rock Island Genealogical Society is housed at the Rock Island County Historical Society Library.
Rock Island County Historical Society
822 11th Avenue
Moline, IL 61265-1221
Tel: 309-764-8590
Hours: 9AM-4PM Wed, Thurs, Fri and Sat
They have a very good research library containing almost all the local newspapers both in bound volumes and some on microfilm. They also have a large selection of books and surname index cards cross referenced to newspaper articles. Many filing cabinets contain local genealogies, histories, government records, military records, historical documents, church records, etc.
Taxation
- 1845 Tax sale record IRAD–WIU
Vital Records
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Rock Island County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Western Illinois University (WIU) - search for Rock Island County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
Births:
Copies of Original Birth Records
- 1860–1978 Birth Record Index, delayed IRAD–WIU
- 1860–1900 Birth Certificates, delayed IRAD–WIU
- 1875–1978 Births, stillbirths, and established or delayed births FHL first film 1428684 Item 2 (first of 6 films)
- 1877–1907 Birth Record Index IRAD–WIU
- 1877–1901 Birth Record IRAD–WIU
Online Resources
Marriages:
Copies of original Marriage Records
- 1833–1900 Marriage index FHL film 1425060 Items 1 - 3, fiche 6206761, book 977.3393 V22r pt. 1–3
- 1833–1924 Marriage license record IRAD–WIUFHL first film 1428580 Item 4 (first of 5 films)
- 1834–1925 Marriage register index IRAD–WIU FHL film 1428578 Item 3
Online Resources
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- 1790–1860 Illinois Marriage index found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Rock Island County Marriage Records courtesy USGenWeb Archives Illinois.
Deaths:
Copies of original Death Records
- 1878–1921 Index to certificates of Death IRAD–WIU FHL film 1428583 Item 2
- 1877–1901 Deaths records IRAD–WIU FHL film 1428583 Item 3 and 1428684 Item 1
Online Resources
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- 1850–1885 U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Rock Island County Death Records courtesy USGenWeb Archives Illinois.
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Rock Island births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Rock Island – Vital Records topic page and the Illinois, Rock Island – Vital Records - Newspapers topic page of the Family History Library catalog (FHLC). Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FHLC may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the Family History Library Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Rock Island County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Rock Island Arsenal, www.wikipedia.org
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:46.
- This page has been accessed 3,948 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


