Rockland All Saints, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  NorfolkGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Rockland All Saints, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Rockland All Saints, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shropham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Wayland PLU
Registration District Wayland
Records begin
Parish registers: 1697
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROCKLAND (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Wayland, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 3¾ miles (W. by N.) from Attleburgh. The joint parishes of Rockland All Saints and St. Andrew comprised 1630. [1]

Rockland All Saints (with Rockland St Andrew) is an Ancient Parish in the Rockland Deanery of the diocese of Norwich I should not be confused with  the village and parish of the same name in Rockland St Mary, Norfolk parish in the Brooke deanery of the diocese.

It neighbors Rockland St Peter, Norfolk. The ruined church of Rockland St Andrew,Norfolk is close by.

The two saxon churches of Rockland All Saints and St Andrew were built as large edifices by two lords of the manor and their size indicates the patronage of two wealthy land owners in Rockland at the time of Edward the confessor.

St Andrew's church dominated the parish and the landscape and was an important village over a thousand years ago. The arrival of the Black Death in Rockland had a severe effect on the village with many buildings burned down in an effort to eradicate the disease. St Andrew's was in ruin and a 1781 description has only the tower remaining.

200 yards to the west All Saints is said to date from the 9th century or earlier. It has no windows on the north wall and the tower and a doorway date from the 13th century. The upper stage of the tower forming the belfry was added in the fourteenth century and the oldest bell installed. Joined by a companion cast by Thomas Draper in 1586 and later by three other installed in 1904/1905 the Rockland peal was silenced only for the period of the Second World War where bells could only be rung to announce the threat of invasion. The church has an enthusiastic team of bell ringers.

The manorial history of Rockland, history of the deanery and rectors may be viewed at the British History online web site listed below.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Wayland 1837-1974

Church records

Rockland All Saints, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Rockland All Saints, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1809, 1813-1880
1726-1812
1725-1811
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1696-1896 Undefined 1696-1923 Undefined 1696-1936
JOIN
1813-1836

TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 335/ 1-7, 12

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~tinstaafl/Church_Pages/rockland_all_saints.htm images of the church and transcripts for Baptisms 1813-1880 Norfolk Baptisms Project

See also http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~tinstaafl/Church_Pages/rockland_wkhouse.htm

for transcript of Workhouse baptisms 1837-1866 Norfolk Baptisms Project.

Rockland Union Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Rockland Union Workhouse Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1837-1866


TIN 1837-1866

}


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.

http://apling.freeservers.com/1891Census/RocklandAllSaints.htm Rockland All Saints and St Andrew 1891 census transcript

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Wayland Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 686-690. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,048 times.