Rode, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Rode

Guide to Rode, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

Church Records

Rode Odd Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Odd Rode All Saints  (1860) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1809-1903
  NONE
1865-1934
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT's
1861-1901
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1864-1901
  NONE

Rode Odd All Saints was founded in 1851 as a chapelry in the parish of Astbury: St. Mary, becoming a Parish for Odd Rode in 1860.

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers of Odd Rode, 1808-1952 Cheshire Record Office no.: P26/1/1-3, P26/2/1-5.

Parish Registers: Odd Rode
Film
Baptisms, 1808-1903.
1656489 Items 9 - 11
Marriages, 1865-1907
1656490 Items 1 - 2
Marriages, 1907-Apr. 1922.
2197435 Item 13
Marriages, Apr. 1922-1952.
2197436 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Odd Rode, 1864-1884 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 160

Bishops Transcripts: Odd Rode
Film
Baptisms, 1864-1865, burials, 1864, baptisms, burials, 1865, baptisms, 1866-1868, burials, 1865-1868, baptisms, burials, 1869-1884.
1647668 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Congleton (1837-1937)
  • Crewe (1937-74)
  • Congleton & Crewe (1974-88)
  • South Cheshire (1988-98)
  • Cheshire Central (1998-2007)
  • Cheshire (2007-09)
  • Cheshire East (2009+)

Poor Law Unions

  • Congleton

Probate Records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

See a gazetteer description of Adlington at Vision of Britain.

Web Sites

References


Bibliography



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 April 2014, at 20:40.
  • This page has been accessed 243 times.