Rogaland County, NorwayEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Rogaland County, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Norway > Rogaland County
Family History Resources
Biographies and genealogies of some well known persons in Rogaland county. "Kjente Rogalendingers ætt: slektshistoriske oplysninger", by Ola Aurenes, 1984. 948.31 D3a FHL INTL Book
Government Offices and Sites
These are the modern civil divisions in Norway and are called "Kommune". They may encompass several parishes.
The Norway.no website is the gateway to the public sector in Norway.
You may look at an alphabetical list for the whole country or you may view the list by county. For each municipality you will find telephone numbers, addresses, links to websites and E-mail links. There are both small scale and large scale location maps, links to the local library and library catalogs. The website can be toggled to English making this site very easy to use.
Use this link for direct access to Rogaland County.
Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Rogaland County
Rogaland county census list for 1758. This census was taken by the priests in Rogaland county. It was not a request of the King, therefore it is the only one of its kind in Norway. It includes the name of the clerical district, farm name, persons name, age, and position in the houshold.
The Norwegian Church (Den Norske Kirke) kept the vital statistics of the population. See Church Records for the contents and in-depth descriptions of the records. The links to the records available at the Family History Library are found in the individual parish under the Cities, Parishes, Clerical Districts in Rogaland County Section.
The National Archival Services of Norway maintains a website, Digitalarkivet.uib.no, in which you can search in transcribed source material for free. Images of the original church books have also been placed there. The Digitised Parish Registers interface can be used in English, Norwegian (Bokmål), Norwegian (Nynorsk) or Samisk (Davvisámegiella). However, the records are written in Norwegian.
Photos of church buildings in Rogaland county are posted on Kirker i Norge blogspot.
Death notices are viewable only through about 1935 although the links show later records.
"Utvandrere fra Rogaland", [Stavanger : Cleng Peerson Memorial Institute, 1988?] A history of the people who emigrated from Rogaland County, Norway to America from 1825 to the early 1900's. It gives the persons name, age or year of birth, spouse, children, death dates, occupations, where they came from, where they went, and other miscellaneous information. Includes the lists of names of persons who sailed on the "Restauration" in 1825, the "Norden" in 1836, "The Norske Klippe" in 1836, and the "Enigheden". Also includes persons who emigrated from Tysvær, Karmøy, Haugesund, and surrounding areas in Rogaland County, Norway. 948.31 W2k FHL INTL Book
Rogaland A list of farm books which have been printed in order of place, with author, year of publication, and remarks.
Farm books in Rogaland county can be purchased from Rogaland Historielag.
1886 and 1838 land registers are found at The Norwegian Historical Data Centre. These are Excel files, which can be downloaded. The give the name of the farm, the farm owner, and the amount of tax. Both farms and sub-farms are included.
Digital images of the probate records for Rogaland county can be found online at Digitalarkivet.
- This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 21:05.
- This page has been accessed 15,211 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More