Rolleston, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Rolleston, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rolleston, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent PLU
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662; Separate records exist for Needwood Forest beginning 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tutbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rolleston St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Needwood, Annesley, Anslow, Needwood Forest Allotments, and Needwood Forest.

ROLLESTON (St. Mary), a parish,  in the union o f Burton-upon-Trent,  N.  division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 3½ miles ( N.N. W.)  from Burton.   There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Lichfield district was responsible. Registers are now held at<br>The Register Office, The Old Library Building, Bird Street, Lichfield WS 13 6PN Tel. 01543 510773

Church records

Rolleston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
ROLLESTON PARISH (1569) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1569-1906
1569-1906

FMP 1569-1902 1569-1902

FS 1569-1888
1662-1835

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1569-1982 Mar 1569-1979  Bur 1569-1982
Lichfield Record Offices holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1662-1865 Mar 1662-1836 Bur 1662-1865

Anslow  formed a mission church to this parish later it became an Ecclesisatical parish.

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 690-695. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 22:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,243 times.