RomaniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Europe Gotoarrow.png Romania

Guide to Romania ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.




Arms of Romania.gif
Pagini in limba romana

Contents

Regions

Romania consists of five historical regions, each of which is represented in the country's coat of arms, shown at right.  These five regions are the three Romanian principalities:

  • Moldavia (upper right)
  • Transylvania (lower right), and
  • Wallachia (upper left), as well as two other regions;

Dobrogea (lower center), and The Banat (lower left).[1]

The area of Bukovina is included in Moldavia, and those of Crisana and Maramures are included in Transylvania.

The principalities of Wallachia and Moldavia in Southeastern Europe, bordering the Black Sea, between Bulgaria and Ukraine were for centuries under the suzerainty of the Turkish Ottoman Empire. They secured their autonomy in 1856 and united in 1859 and a few years later adopted the new name of Romania. The Kingdom of Romania gained official recognition as an independent country at the Congress of Berlin in 1878.

Dobrogea was incorporated into Romania in 1878.  Transylvania and the Banat entered Romania in 1918, following World War I.

 FamilySearch Wiki is a community website dedicated to helping people throughout the world learn how to find their ancestors. Through the Romania Portal page you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Romanian records of genealogical value. The content is variously targeted to beginners, intermediate, and expert researchers. Please visit the help page to learn more about using the site. The Romania Portal Page is a work in progress, your contributions and feedback are essential!

Featured Content

Bukovina Districts 1910.jpg
Bukovina (Bukowina) is an historical region on the northern slopes of the northeastern Carpathian Mountains and the adjoining plains. It is currently split between Romania and Ukraine. The name Bukovina came into official use in 1775 with the region's annexation from the Principality of Moldavia to the possessions of the Habsburg Monarchy, which became Austrian Empire in 1804, and Austria-Hungary in 1867. Nowadays in Ukraine the name is unofficial, but is common when referring to the Chernivtsi Oblast as over 2/3 of the oblast is the northern part of Bukovina. In Romania the term Northern Bucovina is sometimes synonymous to the entire Chernivtsi Oblast of Ukraine, and (Southern) Bucovina to Suceava County of Romania.

Jurisdictions

Romania has 41 counties (judet - singular, judete - plural) and 1 municipality* (municipiu). The word judet is usually seen in the form judeţul, which means "the district."

  • Alba
  • Arad
  • Arges
  • Bacau
  • Bihor
  • Bistrita-Nasaud
  • Botosani
  • Braila
  • Brasov
  • Bucuresti (Bucharest)*
  • Buzau
  • Calarasi
  • Caras-Severin
  • Cluj
  • Constanta
  • Covasna
  • Dimbovita
  • Dolj
  • Galati
  • Gorj
  • Giurgiu|
  • Harghita
  • Hunedoara
  • Ialomita
  • Iasi
  • Ilfov
  • Maramures
  • Mehedinti
  • Mures
  • Neamt
  • Olt
  • Prahova
  • Salaj
  • Satu Mare
  • Sibiu
  • Suceava
  • Teleorman
  • Timis
  • Tulcea
  • Vaslui
  • Vilcea
  • Vrancea

Romanian Family History Centers

Did you know?

There have been Christian churches in Romania since the time of Christ. According to Romanian tradition, the apostle Andrew taught the gospel in the Roman provinces of Dacia and Moesia, which are not encompassed in modern Romania. Christian artifacts have been found in archealogical digs in Romania dating back to the First Century AD.


Research Tools

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here)

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)


|}

Help with the Poland Wiki pages

Wiki Volunteers Wanted

In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need willing volunteers. You can help:


|}

  1. Romanian Laws of 1992, Law #102 of 21 September 1992

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:26.
  • This page has been accessed 12,276 times.