Romsey, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Romsey

Guide to Romsey, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Romsey, Hampshire
Romsey Abbey.png
Romsey Abbey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred King's Sombourn; Romsey
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Romsey PLU
Registration District Romsey
Records begin
Parish registers: 1569
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Somborne
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROMSEY (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of King's-Sombourn, Romsey and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 8 miles (N. W. by N.) from Southampton, and 75 (S. W. by S.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Sandemanians.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Romsey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
ROMSEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1621-1754

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG
1656-1812

FS 1569-1876
1569-1876

PRTS 1569-1902
1569-1844
1569-1897


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288802.

Genealogy from Periodicals

Hedge, Pam.  Man of Means. History and a family tree has been drawn up from the Will of George Wheeler 1811-1892, of Oaklands Romsey. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 19, part 2, August 1992, pages 95-96, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h

Burrowes, L.R.  Mackrell's Last Journey.  Mackrell family tree and story of George Mackrell age 19, buried 25 Mar 1831 the same day as his infant son George Henry Macknell was baptised..  George was drowned in river Test, and article gives an accout of his last journey.  Pedigree chart 1714-1960's.  Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 14, no.1, May 1987, pages 18-20

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 690-695. Date accessed: 07 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,992 times.