Rose Ash, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Rose Ash, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Rose Ash, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||South Molton PLU|
|Registration District||South Molton|
|Parish registers: 1591|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Rural Deanery||South Molton|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
ROSE-ASH (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of South Molton, hundred of Witheridge, South Molton and N. divisions of Devon, 5¾ miles (E. S. E.) from South Molton. The parish comprises 4514 acres, of which 1251 are common or waste land. The church is ancient.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Rose Ash, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Rose Ash, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241328.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Rose Ash on GENUKI
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 30 October 2013.
- ↑ Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- ↑ Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
- This page was last modified on 20 February 2015, at 20:32.
- This page has been accessed 1,572 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More