Ross County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Ross County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Ross County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Ross County Courthouse 2 N. Paint St. Chillicothe, Ohio 45601 Ross County Website |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Adams, Hamilton and Washington Counties in 1798.
- County Seat: Chillicothe
- Neighboring Counties: Ross County, Ohio residents may also have records in [1]Pickaway (north) · Pike (south) · Highland (west) · Fayette (northwest) · Vinton (east) · Hocking (northeast) · Jackson (southeast)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Ross County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries
- Cemetery Index
- Ross County Cemeteries
- The Tombstone Transcription Project
- The Political Graveyard
- Cemeteries of Ross County
- Many Cemetery Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census and Directories
- Census
- Census Records
- Ross County Ohio Census
- U. S. City Directories (Chillicothe) $
- Canton, Ohio 1914 City Directory
- 1820 United States Census $
- 1830 United States Census $
- 1840 United States Census $
- United States Census (Mortality) 1850
- U. S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 $
- United States Census, 1850
- United States Census 1850
- United States Census, 1860
- United States Census 1860
- 1860 United States Census $
- United States Census, 1870
- United States Census 1870
- United States Census, 1880 (Index only)
- United States Census 1880
- 1880 United States Census $
- United States Census, 1900
- United States Census 1900
- 1910 United States Census $
- United States Census 1910
- United States Census, 1920
- United States Census 1920
- 1930 United States Census $
- 1930 Census of Merchant Seamen $
- The 1803 Census Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Many City Directories Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
- Bible & Church Records
- Churches
- Ross County, Ohio Churches
- Topographic Map Church Features in Ross County, Ohio
- Many Church Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ross County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
- Gateways to the West $ (Includes Territorial Court Order Book, 1798-1799, 1799-1800, Index to Estates and Guardianships 1797-1820).
- Many Court Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- Many Minority Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Funeral Homes
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for Ross County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
Local Histories
- Articles & Stories
- Biographies
- Histories
- Biographies extracted from The County of Ross: by Henry Holcomb Bennett 1902
- The History of Ross County, Ohio
- County History
- A Standard History of Ross County, Ohio: an authenitc narrative
- Biographical Sketches
- Many History Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Land Records
- Land Patent Search
- U. S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 $
- Many Land Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Maps
- Ross County Ohio Maps
- Map of Ross County Ohio With Municipal and Township Labels
- Many Maps for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Military
General
- Many Military Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Military Records
- Military Records for Ohio Counties
Civil War
- Civil War service men from Ross County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ross County.
- - 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company M
- - 1st Regiment, Ohio Heavy Artillery, Company B
- -106th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company F
World War I
World War II
- United States, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1942
- U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 ($)
- Ross County, Ohio World War II Casualties Army and Air Force
Naturalization and Citizenships
- Naturalization
- Many Naturalization and Citizenship Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Newspapers
Ross County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
- Obituaries
- Chillicothe Gazette
- Bainbridge Banter $
- Obituary Collection: Chillicothe Gazette $
- Obituary Index, Ross County, Ohio
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Ross County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Ross County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [2] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- Wills & Probate Records
- Many Probate Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Ross County Courthouse
2 N Paint Street
Chillicothe, OH 45601
Phone: 740.702.3085
Probate Judge has birth, marriage, death and probate records;
Clerk Court has divorce records from late 1800’s and court records;
County Recorder has land records[3]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Schools
Taxation
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.
Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ross County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Ross County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Ross County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Ross County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Marriage
Death
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
- Many Divorce Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Ohio Deaths, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 2002 $
- Death Records
- Gateway to the West $ (Marriages from 1798-1809)
- Many Vital Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county. Search This Site
- Family History Library Catalog
- Ohio Genealogy Express
- Ross County, Ohio Chamber of Commerce
- Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Trails
- Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Forum
- Cyndi's List
- Records Project Ross County Public Record Information Online
- WikipediA Ross County, Ohio
- Profile for Ross County, Ohio
Places
Populated Places
- Chillicothe
- Histopolis (Details for Ross County, Cemeteries, Cities, Townships)
- Ross County, Ohio
Neighboring Counties
References
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Mahoning County, Ohio" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mahoning_County,_Ohio (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ross County, Ohio. Page 545 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 19:42.
- This page has been accessed 4,707 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


