Rostherne, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Rostherne, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rostherne, Cheshire
200px
Rostherne-Saint Mary's Church
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow; Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham; Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1594
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROSTHERNE, is a village and a township in Altrincham district, and a parish partly also in Macclesfield district, Cheshire. The village stands 3½ miles N of Knutsford railway station, and has a post-office under Knutsford. The parish contains the townships of Tatton, Marthall, Mere, Peover-Superior, Tabley-Superior, Millington, High Leigh, Snelson, and part of Agden. The living is a vicarage, united with the chapelries of Bollington and Hoo-Green, in the diocese of Chester. Chapels for Independents, Baptists, and Wesleyans, are in Millington.[1]

Rostherne St Mary is an ancient parish in Cheshire and  includes: Millington, Over Tabley, Snelson, Tabley Superior, Mere, Acton, Agden, Agden near Altrincham, Bollington, and Tatton Birkinheath, Bucklow Hill (part) and Yarwood Heath. 

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241234.

Church records

Rostherne St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[3]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
Rostherne St Mary Parish (1594) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1846-1849, 1851-1874
1814-1837

CPR 1594-1871
1594-1871
1595-1871
FS PR's 1594-1909
  NONE
1594-1870
  NONE
1595-1902
  NONE
FS BT'S 1600-1874   NONE
1600-1837
  NONE
1600-1875
  NONE
JOIN
1594-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Record Search includes the parish in Cheshire Parish collection.

Parish registers from Rostherne, 1594-1919 Cheshire Record Office call numbers: P47/1/1-5, P47/2/1-2, P47/3/1-5, P47/5/1-3.

Parish registers Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1594-1754. Baptisms, burials, 1596-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1856 BRITISH 1941850 Items 4 - 10
Baptisms, 1855-1919. Marriages and banns, 1754-1789. Marriages, 1789-1870. Burials, 1813-1874. Register of graves, 1757-1780, 1784-1814. BRITISH 1941851
Register of graves, 1814-1903. BRITISH 1941868 Items 1 - 3

Bishop's transcripts for Rostheme, 1608-1875 Cheshire Record Office call number: EDB/176

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1608, 1612-1613, 1616, 1621-1623, 1627, 1633-1634, 1636-1637 1639-1640, 1658, 1665-1666, 1669-1676, 1679-1685, 1690-1696, 1698-1738, 1741-1749, 1751-1759, 1761-1799, 1803-1813.  BRITISH 1751559 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1786-1793, 1795-1799, 1802-1803, 1805-1806, 1808-1812, 1814-1824, 1834-1837. Baptisms, 1838-1849, 1851-1875. Burials, 1813, 1869-1875. BRITISH 1751560
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Methodist New Connexion
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Baptists

Non-Conformists records:

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Bucklow Hill Chapel (Rostherne, Cheshire : Independent) FHLFilm
Church records 1831-1836
BRITISH   20049 Item 14

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •   Altrincham (1837–98)
  •  Bucklow (1898–1974)
  •  Macclesfield (1974–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Rostherne on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 29 Jan 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. Cheshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 16 October 2013.

Bibliography

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 324, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 286–288

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 17:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,608 times.