Rothbury, NorthumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Gotoarrow.png Northumberland Parishes

Guide to Rothbury, Northumberland family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rothbury, Northumberland
All Saints Church Rothbury.jpg
All Saints Church Rothbury
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Coquetdale
County Northumberland
Poor Law Union Rothbury PLU
Registration District Rothbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1760
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothbury
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Northumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROTHBURY (All Saints), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the W. division of Coquetdale ward, N. division of Northumberland. Independents have a place of worship.[1]

Additional information:

Rothbury is an Ancient Parish and includes: Bankhead, Newtown near Alnwick, Paperhaugh, Pauperhaugh, Raw, Rye Hall, Rye-Hill, Sandylands, Snitter, Thropton, Warton, Whitton, Wreigh Hill, Wreighill, Bickerton, Caistron, Cartington, Cartington with Bankhead and Sandylands, Debdon, Fallowlees, Flotterton, Great Tosson and Rye Hill, Great Tosson and Ryehill, Hellinghill, Hepple, Hepple Demesne, Hesley Hurst, Hesleyhurst, High and Low Trewhitt, Holdinghill, Hollinghill, Lee Ward, Little Tosson, Mount Healey, Newton, and Newtown.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/212 Date: 1760-1831
Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Rothbury, All Saints: Records of baptisms 1653-1916, marriages 1653-1965 and burials 1653-1970 are available at Northumberland Collections Service. The International Genealogical Index (I.G.I.) includes baptisms 1653-1812 and marriages 1653-1812 for this parish, and Boyd's Marriage Index includes marriages 1653-1812. Transcripts of baptisms 1653-1812, marriages 1658-1812 and burials 1654-1812 are available in the Local Studies Departments of Newcastle Central Library and Gateshead Central Library. A transcript of monumental inscriptions at Rothbury (microfiche TN83) is published by Northumberland and Durham Family History Society and these records are also available in book form at Newcastle Central Library, Local Studies Department.

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438891.

Poor Law Unions

Rothbury Poor Law Union, Northumberland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed 11 August 2013.
Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 May 2014, at 15:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,525 times.