Rotherhithe Christ Church, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Rotherhithe Christ Church, Surrey family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rotherhithe Christ Church, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Rotherhithe PLU
Registration District Rotherhithe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1840
Bishop's Transcripts: 1840
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rotherhithe Christ Church was built as a district church in 1842, from and lying within the boundaries of St Mary, a parish, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey, 1 mile southeast of London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Church records

Online Rotherhithe Christ Church, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1840
1840
1840
Indexes 1840-1844 FamilySearch[2] 1840-1841 FamilySearch[3] 1840-1877 BritishOrigins[4]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474659.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 697-703. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. Batch P021311, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  3. Batch M021311, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  4. 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,632 times.