Rotherhithe St Mary, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Surrey go to Surrey Parishes

Free guide to Rotherhithe St Mary, Surrey family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, wills, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rotherhithe St Mary, Surrey
Rotherhithestmary.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Rotherhithe PLU
Registration District Rotherhithe
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROTHERHITHE (St. Mary), a parish, in the E. division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey, 1 mile (S. E.) from London. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

  • Beck, Edward Josselyn. Memorials to Serve for a History of the Parish of St Mary, Rotherhithe. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1907. Digital version at Google Books.

Resources

Church records

Online Rotherhithe St Mary Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1556
1556
1556
Images
1556-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1754-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1949 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1783-1785
1800-1868
FamilySearch[6] 1834-1870 Docklands
Ancestors
[7]
1765-1878 BritishOrigins[8]
1834-1870 Docklands
Ancestors
[7]
1805-1837 Ancestry[9] 1834-1870 Docklands
Ancestors
[7]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474659.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Mary's Church, Rotherhithe
  • St Mary's Rotherhithe (official website). Rotherhithe history, history of the Pilgrim Fathers, photographs, visitor directions, service times.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 08 October 2013
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary, Rotherhithe in Southwark Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Rotherhithe St Mary in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Rotherhithe St Mary in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Rotherhithe St Mary in Southwark Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. Batches C006251, C006252, C006253, C006254, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  7. 7.0 7.1 7.2 'Online Parish Register Search,' ParishRegister.com, accessed 12 March 2012.
  8. 'Greater London Burials: South London Burials: Parishes, Period and Counts,' British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 August 2014, at 19:23.
  • This page has been accessed 4,346 times.