Rottingdean, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Rottingdean, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rottingdean, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Yournsmere
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Newhaven PLU
Registration District Lewes
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROTTINGDEAN (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Newhaven, hundred of Younsmere, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (E.) from Brighton. It is also a civil parish. The village, in ancient records termed Rottington, is pleasantly situated near the coast, on the Newhaven road. [1]

The Anglican Parish of St Margaret is an Ancient Parish and parts of the nave of the building date from the 12th century. The history of the Church is described at Sussex Parish Churches Brighton and Hove St Margaret Rottingdean

The Parish church on The Green  has been designated as a Grade II* listed building Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Other places of worship in Rottingdean include

Former Balsdean Chapel see Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Our Lady of Lourdes, Queen of Peace (Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Roedean School Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
St Dunstan's Chapel [http://www.sussex-opc.org/index.php?p=449&k=1157&t=Church+ Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC))
St Martha, Star of the Sea Convent Chapel (Roman Catholic)

Woodingdean is an eastern suburb of the city of Brighton and Hove Woodingdean Wikipedia Woodingdean was formed from the ancient parish of Rottingdean. Woodingdean Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship in Woodingdean include

Former Chapel
Holy Cross (Anglican) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Kingdom Hall
Methodist Church
St Patrick 9Roman Catholic) Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

list of places to worship in Brighton and Hove Wikipedia

See also Rottingdean Wikipedia and St Margaret Rottingdean Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex
The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Rottingdean, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Rottingdean, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1893


IGI 1572-1885 1558-1881

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rottingdean

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

[1]

Poor Law Unions

Newhaven Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Rottingdean/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 703-705. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,308 times.