Routt County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngRoutt County

Guide to Routt County Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records


Routt County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Routt County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 29, 1887
County Seat Steamboat Springs
Courthouse
Address Routt County Courthouse
522 Lincoln Ave
PO Box 773598
Steamboat Springs, CO 80487
Phone: 970.879.1710
Routt County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has marriage records from 1893 &
land records from 1885; County Health Department
has birth and death records; Clerk District Court has
divorce, probate and court records[1]

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1903-1908 [2]*
1877 [2]*
1903-1908 [2]*

1877
1877
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

County Seat

Steamboat Springs [3]

Parent County

Coroutt.jpg
  • 1881--Routt County was created 29 January 1887 from Grand County.

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Routt County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Routt County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Routt County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Directories

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Local History

Local histories are available for Routt County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Maps

Military

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Routt County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Colorado State Archives has put the Routt County Will Records Index for the years 1888-1905 on-line.

Public Records

School Records

Repositories

Archives

{CO Archives}}

Routt County Ditch Claim Statements 1902 - 1903 Routt County Inheritance Tax 1918 - 1923 Routt County School Census 1910 Routt County School Census 1920 Routt County Will Record 1888 - 1905

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Colorado State Archives has put the Routt County Inheritance Tax Records Index for the years 1918-1923 on-line.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Colorado Vital Records Search

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [4]

Marriage

For marriages from 1877-1933 see Western States Marriage Index.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [4]

Divorce

Places

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Routt County, Colorado. Page 101 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 94.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 3,471 times.