Rowley Regis, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Rowley Regis, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rowley Regis, Staffordshire
Rowley Regis St Giles Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Dudley PLU
Registration District Dudley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kidderminster
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory); See also the parish of Clent
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rowley Regis is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire, created in 1848 from chapelry in Clent, Worcestershire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Old Hill and Tividale.

ROWLEY-REGIS (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Dudley,  N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (S. E.) from Dudley, and 7 ( W.) from Birmingham.   There are 27 places of worship for dissenters in the parish. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Rowley Regis parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
ROWLEY REGIS PARISH (1539) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1685-1714

FREG 1685-1772, 1813-1822
1685-1759
1685-1772, 1813-1849
FS 1539-1812
1539-1812

IARC 1685-1771/2
1685-1771/2
1685-1771/2
IARC 1772-1812
1772-1812
1772-1812
JOIN
1704-1836

NBI

1616-1839
PALL
1790-1812

Rowley Regis St Giles was formed in 1848 from Clent, Worcestershire Original reisters are held at Sandwell Archives  but transcripts of the parish registers  at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1539-1812 Mar 1539-1812 Bur 1539- 1812
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts none held

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474625.

Poor Law Unions

Dudley Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 705-707. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:08.
  • This page has been accessed 1,915 times.