Roydon (near Diss), NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Roydon (near Diss), Norfolk
Roydon St Remigius.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Diss
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Guiltcross PLU
Registration District Guiltcross
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Redenhall
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROYDON (St. Remigius), a parish, in the union of Guiltcross, hundred of Diss, E. division of Norfolk, 1¼ mile (W.) from Diss. [1]


Roydon St Remigius (near Diss) is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich and the parish boundary froms the county boundary with nearby Suffolk. It is not to be confused with  Roydon (near King's Lynn), Norfolk  .

It is mentioned in 1035 as Rygedune, and as Regadona and Regheduna in the Domesday Book, and later in 1242 as Reydon. In 1603 there were 124 communicants, and in 1736 there were 60 families, totalling 240 souls. In 1736 it was assessed for tax at tax at 630 and a half pounds.

Its church, St Remigius, is one of 124 existing round-tower churches in Norfolk. The dedication day was kept on the first of October, being the day of his translation.

Roydon is a small village and parish in the county of Norfolk, England, about a mile west of Diss. For local government purposes the civil parish is in the South Norfolk District.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Guiltcross 1837-1902
  • Depwade 1902-1974

Church records

Roydon (near Diss), Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[7]
Roydon (near Diss), Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1559-1753

FREG 1559-1900
1559-1900
1559-1900
FS ATs 1725-1811 1725-1811 1725-1811
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1559-1901 Undefined 1559-1901 Undefined 1559-1900
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 567/1-9

Parish registers of Roydon (near Diss) Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich. Some early records in Latin.
Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD567/1-9, 79, 80(W).

Baptisms, 1559-1697, burials, 1658-1680 (1666-1667 follows 1680), 1559-1658, marriages, 1559-1638, 1650-1697, burials, 1681-1693, followed by separate indexes; burials & baptisms, 1698-1784, marriages, 1698-1754 (index before burials); baptisms & burials, 1785-1812; baptisms, 1813-1901; marriages & banns, 1754-1803; marriages, 1804-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2147145 Items 14 - 21
Burials, 1813-1900; banns, 1804-1858, 1873-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2147146 Items 1 - 3

Archdeacons transcripts, 1725-1811 Microfilm copies of original records in the Norfolk Record Office, Central Library, Norwich, Norfolk, England.
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1811 FHL BRITISH Film 1526815 Item 2

Known Issues

The images are confused with images for Roydon (near King's Lynn), Norfolk and await engineering to create two distinct parish collections. Refer to Roydon (near King's Lynn), Norfolk page for details of that parish images.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438852.



Poor Law Unions

Guiltcross Poor Law Union   

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 18:59.
  • This page has been accessed 2,291 times.