Roydon (near King's Lynn), NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Roydon (near King's Lynn), Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Roydon (near King's Lynn), Norfolk
Roydon All Saints.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Freebridge-Lynn
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Freebridge Lynn PLU
Registration District Freebridge Lynn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1721
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1847 - Court of the Peculiar of Castle Rising; Post-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

ROYDON (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Freebridge-Lynn, W. division of Norfolk, 6 miles (E. by N.) from Lynn. [1]
Roydon All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich and is near Lynn or King's Lynn. It should not be confused with Roydon (near Diss), Norfolk in the same diocese and county.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Freebridge Lynn 1837-1938
  • King's Lynn 1939-1974

Church records

Roydon (near King's Lynn), Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
Roydon (near King's Lynn), Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1721-1837

FREG 1721-1812
1721-1837
1721-1812
FS ATs 1713-1818 1713-1818 1713-1818
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1721-1901 Undefined 1721-1906 Undefined 1721-1904
IGI 1721-1835 1721-1835
JOIN
1721-1836

Known Issues

Due to confusion between the two parishes part of the All Saints registers appear and the collection awaits engineering to create distinct image collections for the two parishes.

Norfolk Record office no parish reference located.Parish registers for Roydon (near Kings-Lynn), 1721-1906 filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah in 2001 at Norfolk Record Office

Content
Film
Baptisms, burials, 1721-1812; marriages, 1728, 1740-1784 (records not in chronological order). Baptisms, 1813-1901. Marriages, 1755-1813; banns, 1755-1811. Marriages, 1813-1902. Burials, 1813-1904. Banns, 1825-1906.
FHL BRITISH Film
2262433 Items 9 - 15

These images can be found online under Baptisms marriages and burials 1721-1812 (40 images)Baptisms 1813-1901 (42 images) Marriages 1755-1813 which includes list of rectors (11 images) Banns 1755-1811 ( 5 images) Marriages 1813-1836 (14 images) Marriages 1839-1902 (43 images) Burials 1813-1904 (21 images) Banns 1825-1906 ( 35 images)

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438857.

Poor Law Unions

Freebridge Lynn Poor Law Union    

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:26.
  • This page has been accessed 2,323 times.