Royston, Hertfordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Royston, Hertfordshire)


Parish History

Royston is an Ancient Parish mostly in Hertfordshire and partly in Cambridgeshire. See also Royston, Cambridgeshire.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Royston, Hertfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Royston, Hertfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1876-1905

FMP 1662-1905 1662-1905 1754-1915 1754-1915 1662-1990 1662-1990
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1662-1875 1662-1837



To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Poor Law

Parish Chest Materials

Non Conformist Churches


Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Web sites

Royston on Genuki

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  2. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
  4. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  6. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 18:33.
  • This page has been accessed 1,405 times.