Royton, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Royton, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Royton, Lancashire
Royton St Paul Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Oldham PLU
Registration District Oldham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1755
Bishop's Transcripts: 1758
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

ROYTON, a chapelry, in the parochial chapelry, parliamentary borough, and union of Oldham St Mary, Lancashire, parish of Prestwich St Mary, Lancashire, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire, 2 miles north by west of Oldham, on the road to Rochdale. There are places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, and the Society of Friends.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Churches and chapels in Royton

Royton had no medieval church of its own, and for ecclesiastical purposes, lay within the parish of Prestwich-cum-Oldham in the Diocese of Lichfield, until 1541, when this diocese was divided and Royton became part of the Diocese of Chester. This in turn was divided in 1847, when the present Diocese of Manchester was created. For ritual baptisms, marriages and burials, the people of Royton, a Christian community, had to travel to churches that lay outside of the township's boundaries, including  Oldham St Mary, Lancashire, St Leonard's Middleton, Lancashire or  Prestwich St Mary, Lancashire.

The Religious Society of Friends were recorded as holding conventicles in Heyside in as early as the 1650s. A Baptist meeting place was erected in 1775. Congregational preachers regularly visited Royton, but it was not until 1854 that a workshop was established in the town. Primitive Methodism was established in Royton in a room in a Royley building, with its first purpose-built church being erected in 1867.

Roman Catholicism in Royton after the English Reformation began in 1874, when a disused factory was used as a chapel. Sir Percival Radcliffe, the then owner of Royton Hall, gave land and £2,000 towards the construction of a new Catholic school-chapel which opened in 1880; the local priest lived at Royton Hall. A rectory was built in 1901 and in 1966 the church, dedicated to saints Aidan and Oswald, was rebuilt. Royton, which forms part of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Salford, continues to have a Catholic community, supported by Our Lady's R.C. High School.

The Lancashire Online Parish Clerk website contains a listing of all denominations in the Oldham area (see below).

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Royton chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Prestwich to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:


AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


ROYTON ST PAUL Chapelry (1755) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1755-1910 None 1758-1868
LOPC 1755-1797, 1806-1919 1839-1909 1757-1785, 1806-1938
LBMD 1837-1928 1839-1974 1838-1872
FMP None None 1757-1938
PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH (1600) Indexes (ancient parish containing ROYTON Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1603-1910 1600-1935 1712-1921
LOPC 1603-1936 1603-1895 1603-1921
LBMD 1837-1902 1837-1925 1837-1877
FMP None 1603-1712 None
AC 1603-1711 1603-1711 1603-1711


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Royton and comprising the whole ancient parish of Prestwich to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the PRESTWICH ST MARY PARISH page.


Parish registers, 1755-1938 Microfilm of original records housed at the Central Library, Oldham.

The Chapelry of Royton is in the parish of Prestwich.

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1755-1813 Baptisms, 1813-1850
FHL BRITISH Film
1656585
Baptisms, 1850-1919 Burials, 1813-1836
FHL BRITISH Film
1656586
Burials, 1836-1938 Marriages, 1839-1889
FHL BRITISH Film
1656587
Marriages, 1888-1909
FHL BRITISH Film
1656588


Bishop's transcripts for Royton, 1758-1880 Microreproduction of original manuscripts housed at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.The Chapelry of Royton (St. Paul's) is in the parish of Prestwich. It was formerly in the parish of Oldham.
Lancashire Record Office: DRM/2/253-258

Content
Film
Baptisms and burials, 1758-1836
FHL BRITISH Film
1545720 Items 2-4
Baptisms and burials, 1836-1846; 1858-1869; marriages, 1843
FHL BRITISH Film
1545721
Baptisms and burials, 1870-1880
FHL BRITISH Film
1545722 Item 1


Lancashire Online Parish Clerk

A valuable resource is the online information provided by the Online Parish Clerk at http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/Oldham/Royton/index.html with links to Baptisms, marriages and burials for the parish with surname index.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306932.


Poor Law unions

Oldham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.saint-pauls-royton.org/ for information about the parish

http://www.manchester.anglican.org/churches/rochdale-archdeaconry/oldham-west.asp?Page=2 for information about Oldham West Denery of the Diocese of Manchester

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=53009 British History online

http://www.roytononline.co.uk/#/royton-history/4526877701 Royton History Society web page

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LAN/Royton/ GENUKI page

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-711.
  2. 2.0 2.1 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 3,853 times.