Ruan MajorEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Ruan Major, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ruan Major
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kerrier
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Helston PLU
Registration District Helston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Kerrier
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RUAN MAJOR (St. Ruan), a parish, in the union of Helston, W. division of the hundred of Kerrier and of the county of Cornwall, 8 miles (S. S. E.) from Helston. [1]

The parish is named for its patron saint Ruan or Rumon and called Major to distinguish it from its smaller neighbour, Ruan Minor (once, Ruan Parvus). These parishes share their patron saint with another Cornish parish, Ruan Lanihorne.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ruan Major parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[5]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[6][7][8]
FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[11]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[12]
Ruan Major Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1610-1673, 1681-1812

COPC 1682-1901
1681-1903
1683-1812
CPRI 1813-1899
1681-1708, 1755-1835, 1838-1903
1683-1812
FMP 1610-1837 1614-1837 1813-1836
FREG 1682-1841
1683-1812

FS PRs 1838-1903
IGI 1610-1837
PALL
1790-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 200

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241261.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

Ruan Major in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [|A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. "Ruan" in Mills, A. D. (Anthony David) (2011). A dictionary of British place-names. Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press. ISBN 978-0-19-960908-6. Published online (2011-2012) eISBN 9780191739446. Accessed 24 October 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  5. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  6. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 15 November 2013.
  10. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  11. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 845 times.