Ruckinge, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Ruckinge, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Ruckinge, Kent
Ruckinge St Mary Magdalene Kent.jpg
Ruckinge St Mary Magdalene Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Newchurch
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford PLU
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

Ruckinge is a village and civil Parish in the Ashford district of Kent, see Ruckinge Wikipedia

Ruckinge St Mary Magdalene is a parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and is part of the group of churches in the benefice of Orlestone with Snave and Ruckinge with Warehorne and Kenardington.

The Church of St Mary Magdalene has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 352-360. Date accessed: 30 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Ruckinge Methodist Chapel, Marsh Road, Ruckinge is part of South Kent Methodist Circuit see Church website


Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -

RUCKINGE (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, hundred of Newchurch, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 6½ miles (S. by E.) from Ashford. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ruckinge, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[3]
Ruckinge, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Family History Library film numbers
Ruckinge
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Land Tax

It is necessary to look within the image collection available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831 for the images relating to the hundred of Ham to try to search for Ruckinge tax records.

See Edward Hasted The hundred of Ham: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 360 at British History Online and Orlestone, Kent

Images for Orlestone and Ruckinge are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831 The images are derived from 1780-1831 Family History Library BRITISH Film 1470619 Items 3-5 Contains records for Orlestone (item 5 only)

Images for Orlestone, Shadoxhurst and Warehorne are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

The images are derived from microfilm Kent Archives Office, Maidstone, England. The Family History Library description of the film includes:

"This record assesses taxes in the hundred of Ham. Items 4 and 5 split the hundred into upper and lower Ham. Warehorne falls on the dividing line".

Kent Archives Office reference: Q/RPL/399-400.

Image 1 of the series contains a handwritten insertion by the microfilmer {"Warehorne and Orlestone" (parts of the Lower half of the Hundred of Ham in Romney Marsh Some of the returns include "Rucking" in the heading but do not vary in their contents}

Census records

Census returns for Ruckinge 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

East Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 06 May 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,829 times.