Ruddington, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Ruddington, Nottinghamshire
Ruddington St Peter Nottinghamshire.jpg
Ruddington St Peter Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Basford PLU
Registration District Basford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1633
Bishop's Transcripts: 1628
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

RUDDINGTON (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Basford, N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (S.) from Nottingham. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Ruddington St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the Rushcliffe district of Nottinghamshire which includes Flawford or Flawforth in the parish boundary.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have research the history of the church Ruddington St Peter

The Parish church of St Peter has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

see also Ruddington Wikipedia St Peter's Church Ruddington Wikipedia.

The nearby lost church of Flawford St Peter, Nottinghamshire was demolished in 1773-1778 and further details are available on the linked page concerning the church. See also St Peter Flawford Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was from 1837 part of the Basford registration district

Church records

Ruddington St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
RUDDINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1655-1813

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1636-1967 Marriages 1653-1960 Burials 1754-1974 Bishop's Transcripts1628-1862
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ruddington

Ruddington Headstones in Ruddington Churchyard.  An alphabetical listing of transcription of the Headstones in the Churchyard, giving surname, given names, date of death and age starting 1778 onwards.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 97, pages 51-55, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Ruddington - St. Peter's.  An alphabetical listing of transcription of Memorial Inscriptions giving surname, given names, date of death and age starting 1770, including W.W.1 and W.W.2, and Korea War Memorials. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 82, pages 4-11.  FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Cemetery

Ruddington - New Extension, and Ruddington Shaw Street.  A trnascription of the memorial inscriptions giving  alphabetical listing of surnames, given names date of death and age at death, earliest date is 1883. Article in The Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.91, pages 55-69, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Settlement Certificates Issued to Ruddington, 1697-1821. Transcribed Bailey, Bryan. Gives given name, surname, number of families, and year date.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 6125. transcription is in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 129, pages 86-88, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Parish-Registers Selection from Ruddington Parish Registers.  Baptisms, marriages and burials, dated from 1636-1812, giving date, given name, surname, relationship, to be found in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.115, page 61, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Basford Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ruddington in GENUKI



References 

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 12:56.
  • This page has been accessed 1,625 times.