Rudford, GloucestershireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Rudford, Gloucestershire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Botloe; Dudstone and King's Barton|
|Poor Law Union||Newent PLU|
|Parish registers: 1729|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1583|
|Diocese||Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford Post 1541- Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
RUDFORD (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newent, partly in the hundred of Botloe, and partly in the Lower division of that of Dudstone and King's Barton, E. division of the county of Gloucester,3½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Gloucester; containing the hamlet of High Leadon. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288763.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 15 January 2013.
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2014, at 18:43.
- This page has been accessed 617 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki