Rudgwick, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Guide to Rudgwick, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rudgwick, Sussex
Rudgwick Holy Trinity West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Easwrith
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Petworth PLU
Registration District Petworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RUDGWICK, or Ridgewick (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Petworth, hundred of West Easwrith, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 7 miles (N. W. by W.) from Horsham. It is bounded on the north by the county of Surrey. The church is a neat edifice in the early English style, with a tower. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

History of the parish church and of St John Tinham Common Rudgwick and Tinham Common

The Parish Church of Holy Trinity Rudgwick has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Rudgwick Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Rudgwick Wikipedia and list of places of worship in Horsham district Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district See alsoPetworth Registration District Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Rudgwick, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Rudgwick, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1538-1877 1538-1875
PRTS 1538-1900
1538-1900
1538-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rudgwick

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474671.

Poor Law Unions

Petworth Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Rudgwick/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 707-711. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,439 times.