Ruislip, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Gotoarrow.pngMiddlesex Parishes

Guide to Ruislip, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ruislip, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Uxbridge PLU
Registration District Uxbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1689
Bishop's Transcripts: 1629-30; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (London Division)
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Ruislip St. Martin, a parish, in the union of Uxbridge, hundred of Elthorne, county of Middlesex, 3½ miles northeast of Uxbridge with the village of Eastcott, and the hamlet of North Wood within its boundary.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Ruislip Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1689
1689
1689
Images
1689-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1906 Ancestry[3] 1754-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1957 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1629-1631,
1694-1837
BritishOrigins[6]
1813-1837 BritishOrigins[7]

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438774.

1666 Hearth Tax

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for two manors in Ruislip Parish: Ruislip Manor (1247-1898) and Ruislip St Catherine's Manor (c1750). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Ruislip on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, 1848. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 February 2014.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Martin, Ruislip in Hillingdon Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Ruislip in Hillingdon Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Ruislip in Hillingdon Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Ruislip in Hillingdon Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  7. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Middlesex parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 17 September 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:18.
  • This page has been accessed 3,609 times.