Rumboldswyke, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Rumboldswyke, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rumboldswyke, Sussex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Box and Stockbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Westhampnett PLU
Registration District Westhampnett
Records begin
Parish registers: 1670
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Chichester
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RUMBOLD'S-WYKE (St. Rumbald), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Box and Stockbridge, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex. This is a small parish adjoining Chichester, and includes part of the suburb called Hornett. A branch of the Arundel and Portsmouth canal, to Chichester, passes through its western portion.The church is a neat building in the later English style.[1]

The Church of St Mary (formerly St Rumbold) was declared redundant in 1994 and the building was converted for use by the Diocesan Architect see Sussex Parish Churches for history of the church Chichester St Mary Rumboldswyke

The church has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

The parish became part of Whyke with Rumboldswyke & Portsfield but later was merged into Chichester parish.

See also Chichester Wikipedia

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Other places of worship in Whyke with Rumboldswhyke & Portsfield include All Saints, Portsfield
Baptist Chapel
Cemetery Chapel, Portsfield
Christian Scientist Chapel
St George, Whyke
United Methodist Church

See Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Rumboldswyke, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[5]
RUMBOLDSWYKE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1664-1721

IGI 1613-1877 1613-1639, 1664-1876
PALL
1780-1837

PRTS 1613-1639, 1663-1904
1613-1902
1613-1640, 1663-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rumboldswyke

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474674.

See Sussex Census

Poor Law Unions

Westhampnett Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Rumboldswyke/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 711-716. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,509 times.