Runcorn, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Runcorn

Guide to Runcorn, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

RUNCORN (St. Bartholomew), is a sea-port and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Bucklow, and the Northen division of the county of Chester; it is 9 miles (S. W. by W.) from Warrington, and 12  miles (E. S. E.) from Liverpool. The parish includes the chapelries of Aston-by-Sutton, Daresbury, Halton, and Thelwall; and the townships of Acton-Grange, Aston-Grange, Clifton, Hatton, Keckwick, Moore, Newton-by-Daresbury, Norton, Prestonon-the-Hill, Stockham, and Sutton, Walton Inferior and Superior, and Weston. The town contains places of worship for Independents, Wesleyans, Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, and Primitive and Independent Methodists; a Welsh chapel, and a Roman Catholic chapel.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241235.

Church records

Runcorn All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Runcorn All Saints Parish (1557) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1830-1835, 1837-1894, 1898-1906
1821-1854, 1890-1902


FS PR's 1558-1909
  NONE
1558-1934
  NONE
1557-1937
  NONE
FS BT'S 1607-1854
  NONE
1607-1854
  NONE
1607-1854
  NONE

Weston Point registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

WESTON POINT Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1821-1825, 1843-1906
1865-1906


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Runcorn, All Saints (C of E). An ancient parish church, originally serving the townships of Acton Grange, Aston by Sutton, Aston Grange, Clifton, Daresbury, Dutton (part), Halton, Hatton, Keckwick, Moore, Newton by Daresbury, Norton, Preston on the Hill, Runcorn, Stockham, Sutton (near Runcorn), Thelwall Walton Inferior, Walton Superior and Weston. Registers of Baptisms 1558–1984, Marriages 1558–1963 and Burials 1558–1936 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office (registers 1558–1647 are too fragile to be viewed). See individual page Runcorn All Saints, Cheshire

Runcorn, Holy Trinity (C of E). Trinity Street. Founded 1838 as a chapel to All Saints, becoming a parish church in 1860. Registers of Baptisms 1838–1945 and Marriages 1861–1959 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office (no burials). See individual page Runcorn, Holy Trinity, Cheshire  

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Runcorn, St. Michael and All Angels (C of E). Greenway Road. Founded 1885 as a chapel to All Saints, becoming a parish church in 1931. Registers of Baptisms from 1914 and Marriages from 1924 are held at the church..
  • Runcorn, St. Peter. Irwell Lane. Seaman's mission, attached to Holy Trinity; closed in 1946. Registers of Baptisms 1922–1946 and Burials 1894–1941 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office
  • Grange, St. Andrew (C of E). Founded in 1963 to serve the Grange estate district of Runcorn New Town. Registers of Marriages 1965–1982 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office. Baptism registers start in 1959 and are held at the church (no burials here).
  • Hallwood, St. Mark (C of E). Beechwood Avenue. Built in 1976 as an ecumenical church for the Hallwood area of Runcorn New Town. Registers of Baptisms from 1976, and Marriages from 1981 are held at the church.
  • Runcorn, Bethesda Church (Interdenominational). Founded 1974, and attached to Hallwood for C of E services. Registers of Baptisms from 1974 are held at the church.
  • Runcorn, St. Edward the Confessor (Roman Catholic), Irwell Lane. Founded 1842. The first church was built in Irwell Lane in 1847, and replaced by a new building in 1888, which was destroyed by fire. The present building in Ivy Street opened in 1956. Registers of baptisms 1842–1932, marriages 1854–1954 and burials 1860–1981 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, Friends' Meeting House (Quakers). Built in 1920.
  • Runcorn, Presbyterian Church, Victoria Road.
  • Runcorn, St. John's Methodist Chapel (New Connexion), Rutland Street. Founded 1818, closed in 1849. Registers 1819–1837 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, Brunswick Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), High Street. Founded 1821, closed in 1865. Registers 1821–1865 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Regent Street. Built in 1838, closed in 1871.
  • Runcorn, Zion Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Halton Road. Founded 1842, Built in 1871. Registers 1876–1956 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, Methodist Chapel (Free), Ellesmere Street. Founded by 1850, closed in 1958. Registers 1850–1954 are at the Cheshire Record Office. See individual page and Record Search.
  • Runcorn, Methodist Chapel (Welsh Calvinist/Presbyterian), Rutland Street. Founded 1850.
  • Runcorn, Camden Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), Lowland Road. Built in 1862, closed in 1970. Registers 1877–1970 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, St. Paul's Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan), High Street. Opened 1866, closed in 1963. Registers 1866–1962 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Greenway Road. Built in 1871, closed in 1970. Registers 1924–1970 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, Methodist Chapel (Primitive), Ashridge Street. Built in 1897, closed in 1908.
  • Runcorn, Methodist Chapel, Laburnum Grove. Founded 1960, closed in 1970. Registers 1960–1969 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, Methodist Chapel, The Heath. Built in 1970.
  • Runcorn, St. Luke's United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), Mason Street. Built in 1830, rebuilt in 1933.
  • Runcorn, Bethesda United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational), High Street. Built in 1835. Registers 1832–1949 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
  • Runcorn, Hallwood United Reformed Church (Ecumenical), Lapwing Grove. Opened 1976.

Non-Conformist church records:

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Church records for the Camden Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Runcorn, 1877-1954 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 106/1/1-2, EMS 106/2/1-3.

Church records for the Camden Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Runcorn Film
Baptisms, 1877-1954.
2299475 Items 23 - 24
Marriages, 1938-1952
2299476 Items 1 - 3

Church records for the Ellesmere United Methodist Free Chapel, Runcorn, 1850-1954  Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 108/1.

Church records for the Ellesmere United Methodist Free Chapel, Runcorn Film
Baptisms, 1850-1954
2299476 Item 4

Church records for the Halton Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Runcorn, 1876-1956 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 110/11/1-2, EMS 110/12.

Church records for the Halton Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Runcorn
Film
Baptisms, 1876-1956. Marriages, 1890-1923
2299476 Items 5 - 7

Church records for the Runcorn Primitive Methodist Circuit, 1843-1924 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMC 4/4653/1.

Church records for the Runcorn Primitive Methodist Circuit Film
Baptisms, 1843-1924 (includes the Gospel Mission baptism register at Rock Savage, 1881-1884, and Duke's Field, 1886).
2299550 Items 3 - 6

Church records for the St. Paul's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Runcorn, 1848-1962 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 110/11/1-2, EMS 110/12.

Church records St. Paul's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Runcorn Film
Baptisms, 1919-1962. Marriages, 1848-1923, 1901-1961
2299476 Items 8 - 14

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church at Preston-Brook, 1818-1835, 1883-1968 Cheshire Record Office call no.: EMS 154/1.

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church at Preston-Brook Film
Births and baptisms, 1818-1835
20049 Item 10
Baptisms, 1883-1968
2299475 Item 12

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Weston (near Runcorn), 1876-1970 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 114/1/1-2, EMS 114/2/1-3.

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Weston (near Runcorn) Film
Baptisms, 1876-1970. Marriages, 1928-1958
2299527 Items 1 - 5

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Weston-Point, 1872-1907 Cheshire Record Office call nos.: EMS 205/1.

Church records for the Wesleyan Methodist Church, Weston-Point Film
Baptisms, 1872-1907
2299527 Item 7

Lady Huntingdon Church records St. John's Chapel Runcorn 1819-1837 Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London

Lady Huntingdon Church records St. John's Chapel Runcorn Film
Births and baptisms, 1819-1837
20049 Item 16

Wesleyan Brunswick Chapel Runcorn Church records 1821-1837 Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London

Wesleyan Brunswick Chapel Runcorn Church records Film
Births and baptisms, 1821-1837
20049 Item 15

Primitive Methodist Church Preston-Brook, Cheshire Church records, 1823-1837 Microfilm of original records at the Public Record Office, London.

Primitive Methodist Church Preston-Brook, Cheshire Church records Film
Births and baptisms, 1823-1837
20049 Item 11

Bethesda Chapel Runcorn Independent Church records, 1832-1839 Cheshire Records Office no.: ECC/2/1/1-2

Bethesda Chapel Runcorn Independent Church records Film
Baptisms, 1832-1839
1736978 Item 9

Church records Catholic Church. St. Edward's Runcorn 1842-1981 Cheshire Record Office call no.: ERC 18/5221/1-15.

Church records Catholic Church. St. Edward's Runcorn Film
Baptisms, 1842-1854 (includes births. Also marriages and deaths, 1856-1857) Baptisms, 1856-1873
2068195 Items 7-9
Baptisms, 1873-1932 Marriages, 1854-1954 Burials, 1860-1895 (to 14 Apr. 1895)
2068214
Burials, 1895-1943 (from 12 Feb. 1895), 1960-1981
2068215 Items 1-2

Record of members, 1867-1883 Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Runcorn Branch Microfilm of original records in the LDS Church Archives, Salt Lake City

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Runcorn Branch
Film
Record of members, 1867-1883
87029 Item 35

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Runcorn (1837-1974)
  • Halton (1974+)

Poor Law Unions

Runcorn Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 15 January 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,094 times.