Runcorn Holy Trinity, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Runcorn Holy Trinity, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Runcorn Holy Trinity, Cheshire
Holy Trinity Parish Church, Runcorn Cheshire.jpg
Holy Trinity Parish Church, Runcorn Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Runcorn PLU
Registration District Runcorn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RUNCORN (St. Bartholomew), is a sea-port and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Bucklow, and the Northern division of the county of Chester; it is 9 miles (S. W. by W.) from Warrington,  and 12 miles (E. S. E.) from Liverpool.

The parish includes the chapelries of Aston-by-Sutton, Daresbury, Halton, and Thelwall; and the townships of Acton-Grange, Aston-Grange, Clifton, Hatton, Keckwick, Moore, Newton-by-Daresbury, Norton,Prestonon-the-Hill, Stockham, Sutton, Walton Inferior and Superior, andWeston.  There is district church, Trinity.[1]

Runcorn Holy Trinity was created as an Ecclesiatical parish from the  Runcorn All Saints, Cheshire Ancient Parish in 1840.

The church was built in 1838 as an evangelical alternative to the parish church of Runcorn. It is a Commissioners' Church with part of its cost being met by the Church Building Commission. The rest was given by public subscription, John and Thomas Johnson, soap and alkali manufacturers, being the principal subscribers. The architect was Joseph Hartley, a local architect, and the church was built by William Rigby, a local builder. The original chancel was short and a longer chancel was added in 1857.

Runcorn, St. Peter. Irwell Lane. Seaman's mission, attached to Holy Trinity; was closed in 1946

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241235.

Church records

Runcorn Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Runcorn Holy Trinity Parish (1838) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1838-1879
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Founded 1838 as a chapel to All Saints, becoming a parish church in 1860. Registers of Baptisms 1838–1945 and Marriages 1861–1959 have been deposited at the Cheshire Record Office (no burials).

Cheshire Record Office call number: P134/1/1-9, P134/2/1-6.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at theFamily History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1879. BRITISH 2106343 Items 10 - 11
Baptisms, 1879-1945. Marriages, 1861-1935. BRITISH 2106344
Marriages, 1935-1941. VAULT BRITISH 2106218 Item 1
Marriages, 1941-1959. VAULT BRITISH 2262943 Item 8

Cheshire parish registers are available online in Record Search.

Bishop's transcripts for Holy Trinity Church, Runcorn, 1838-1868 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 178

Bishop's Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1838-1848, 1851, 1854-1868. BRITISH 1647670 Item 2
Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Runcorn (1837–1974)
  •  Halton (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Runcorn Holy Trinity on GENUKI

Runcorn on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 5 April 2013

Bibliography

Starkey, H.F. (1990), Old Runcorn, Halton: Halton Borough Council, p. 98

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 November 2014, at 17:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,190 times.