Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland Norfolk
St James, Runcton Holme, Norfolk .jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Clackclose
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Downham PLU
Registration District Downham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1692
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fincham
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RUNCTON, SOUTH (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Downham, hundred of Clackclose, W. division of Norfolk, 4¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Downham. The living is a rectory, with the livings of Holme,Thorpland, and Wallington annexed. [1]

Runcton Holme St James including South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich. Also called Home-next-Runcton and Runcton Bottom.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration District:

  • Downham 1837-1974 with changes of sub district grouping

Church records

Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[9]
Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland Norfolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1726-1835

FREG 1725-1902
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1707-1901 Undefined 1707-1920 Undefined 1707-1900
JOIN
1725-1835

TIN 1813-1880


This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content Film
Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812 FHL BRITISH Film
1526808 Item 14

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849.

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Downham/Downham.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Downham Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 711-716. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
  2. Pat Newby, "Norfolk: Towns and Parishes", GenUKI
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014. Described as 'South Ruston.'
  5. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  7. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014. Described as 'South Ruston.'
  8. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014. Described as 'South Ruston.'
  9. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,995 times.