Rushall, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Rushall, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rushall, Staffordshire
Rushall St Michael the Archangel Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Walsall PLU
Registration District Walsall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Walsall
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rushall St Michael the Archangel is an Ancient Parish. RUSHALL (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Walsall, S. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 1 mile (N. E. by N.) from Walsall. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Rushall St Michael Ancient Parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
RUSHALL ST MICHAEL PARISH (1660) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1686-1787
1715-1884

FMP 1686-1894 1686-1894 1715-1900 1715-1900 1717-1892 1717-1892
FREG 1660-1968
1662-1845, 1942-1955
1660-1844
FS 1660-1868
1660-1884

NBI

1660-1843

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1686-1968 Mar 1715-1982 Bur 1771-1961 (earlier years include BT's
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1868 Mar 1660-1837 Bur 1660-1868

Parish registers for Rushall, 1686-1894 Microfilm copies of original records in the Staffordshire Record Office, Stafford, England. The parish church in Rushall is St. Michael.
Staffordshire Record Office reference: D3845/1/1-16.

Baptisms 1686-1894 Marriages 1724, 1734-1769, 1771-1806, 1813-1869 Banns 1772-1812 Burials 1771-1812 FHL BRITISH Film 1526108 Items 23-32
Marriages 1869-1884 Burials 1813-1892 FHL BRITISH Film 1526109 Items 1-6

Bishop's transcripts for Rushall, 1660-1868 Microfilm of original records in the Staffordshire Record Office.

Baptisms, marriages, and burials, 1660-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 421585 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, and burials, 1813-1868. FHL BRITISH Film 435834 

Known Issue entries for the parish in England Births and Christenings 1538-1975 may be duplicated by erroneous entries for the event in indexing project (batch) number: C391551 system origin: England-VR
source film number: 1526108 with incorrect place data entry as Mavesyn Ridware, Staffordshire

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474615.

Poor Law Unions

Walsall Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Rushall/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-719. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 September 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,986 times.