Rushford, Norfolk & SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk ParishesGotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png Rushford

Rushford, Norfolk & Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackbourn; Guiltcross
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Thetford PLU
Registration District Thetford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1586
Bishop's Transcripts: 1715
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RUSHFORD (St. John the Evangelist), a parish, in the union of Thetford, partly in the hundred of Blackbourn, W. division of Suffolk, but chiefly in the hundred of Guilt-Cross, W. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (E. S. E.) from Thetford. [1]

Rushford St John is an ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich and includes Shadwell.


Part of the parish lies an Norfolk and part in Suffolk with the main part being in Norfolk.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Thetford 1837-1894 (part in Suffolk)
  • Thetford 1895-1935 wholly in Norfolk for administrative purposes with brettenham 1935-1938
  • Wayland 1939-1974

Church records

Rushford, Norfolk & Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
Rushford, Norfolk & Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1586-1900
1586-1837
1586-1900
FS ATs 1725-1751 1725-1751 1725-1751
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1586-1740, 1762-1902 Undefined 1586-1740, 1762-1837 Undefined 1586-1740, 1762-1904
JOIN
1813-1837

  • Parish Registers for Rushford, 1586-1904: First film listed in the FamilySearch Catalog is 2262381
  • Parish Register of baptisms, burials & marriages in Rushford Collegiate Church from its recovery,1586-1740: Film number 1702652
  • Archdeacons Transcripts, 1726-1751 can be viewed online through our Historical Collections.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474634.



Poor Law Unions

Thetford Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 717-719. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,048 times.