Rushton, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Rushton, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rushton, Staffordshire
Rushton Spencer St Lawrence Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Leek PLU
Registration District Leek
Records begin
Parish registers: 1700
Bishop's Transcripts: 1693
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Leek
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Rushton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Staffordshire,  created in 1726 from chapelry in Leek, Staffordshire Ancient Parish. Other places in the parish include: Heaton, Rushton Spencer, and Rushton James.

RUSHTON-SPENCER, a township and chapelry, in the parish and union of Leek, N. division of the hundred of Totmonslow and of the county of Stafford, 5 miles (N. W. by N.) from Leek. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Rushton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[4]
RUSHTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1700-1869
FS 1693-1856
1693-1811, 1820-1836

JOIN
1700-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1693-1980 Mar 1693-1992 Bur 1693-1968
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1693-1875 Mar 1693-1836 Bur 1693-1879

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.

Poor Law Unions

Leek Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/RushtonSpencer/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-719. Date accessed: 06 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  5. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,408 times.