Rusk County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
Counties R
Rusk County
Guide to Rusk County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: TXGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Rusk County Courthouse
PO Box 758;
Henderson, TX 75653;
Phone. 903.657.0330
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage, land and probate records from 1843, court
records from 1844 and military discharge records from 1917;
District Court has divorce Court has divorce records from 1844[1]
History
Parent County
1843--Rusk County was created 16 January 1843 fromNacogdoches County. County seat: Henderson [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1878--Courthouse and many county records were destroyed by fire in March 1878.
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Mount Hope Cemetery, Henderson BillionGraves
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Rusk County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
Maps
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Rusk County, Texas (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the Texas Genweb site
- 1914 Map of Angelina, Gregg, Harrison, Cherokee, Houston, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rusk, San Augustine, Shelby, Smith & Trinity at www.rootsweb.com
Military
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Rusk County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Rusk County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Probate records of Texas have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903.
Societies and Libraries
Rusk County Library
106 East Main Street
Henderson, TX 75652
903-657-8557
Rusk County Genealogical Society (non-active)
PO Box 1314
Henderson TX 75653
East Texas Genealogical Society
PO Box 6967
Tyler TX 75711-6967
German-Texan Heritage Society
PO Box 684171
Austin, TX 78768
Eva Barnett
Executive Director
512-482-0927
866-482-4847
East Texas Research Center
Mail:
Stephen F. Austin State University
East Texas Research Center
Box 13055, SFA Station
Nacogdoches, TX 75962-3055
Phone: (936) 468-4100
Email: AskETRC@sfalib.sfasu.edu
The East Texas Research Center is located on the second floor of R. W. Steen Library on the Stephen F. Austin State University Campus.
Regular Hours:
Monday-Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 6.00 p.m.
Sunday CLOSED
Special hours for intercessions and university holidays are listed on the Library Hours page. Before making a trip from out of town, it is best to check to be sure the East Texas Research Center will be open.
Henderson Area Chamber of Commerce
201 North Main Street
Henderson, Tx 75652
phone: 903-657-5528 fax: 903-657-9454
email: info@hendersontx.com
National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution
Texas Chapters
Some District IV Chapters:
Nacogdoches Chapter, Nacogdoches, Texas
Major Thaddeus Beall Chapter, Jacksonville, Texas
Mary Tyler Chapter, Tyler, Texas
Daughters of the Republic of Texas
Some District IV Chapters:
John Tilley Edwards Chapter, Longview, Texas
Stone Fort Chapter, Nacogdoches, Texas
Charles G. Davenport Chapter, Tyler, Texas
Fort Houston Chapter, Palestine, Texas
Family History Centers *
Note: These are physical locations, Family History Centers do not respond to mail queries.
* Tyler Texas
1617 Shiloh Road
Tyler, TX 75703-2437
Tyler, Smith County, Texas, United States
Phone: 903-509-8322
Hours: T 10am-2pm, 6:30-8pm; W 6pm-8pm; Th 6:30pm-8pm; Sat 10am-2pm.
* Longview, Texas
1700 Blueridge Parkway
Longview, TX 75605
Longview, Gregg/Harrison County, Texas, United States
Phone: 903-297-1349
Hours: M, Sat 9am-5pm; T-Th 6:30pm-8:30pm; Sat 9am-5pm
* Gilmer Texas
1122 West Pine Street
Gilmer, TX 75644-3238
Gilmer, Upshur County, Texas, United States
Phone: 903-843-5805
Hours: M,T,Th,F 9am-1pm, W 6pm-8pm; Sun 10am-4pm according to staff availability.
Texas State Library and Archives Commission +
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 12927, Austin, TX 78711
+Capitol Complex
1201 Brazos St
Austin, Texas
+The Sam Houston Center
FM 1011 off Hwy 146
Liberty, TX
Monday through Friday 8am-5pm
and Saturday 9am-4pm
Web Sites
- TEXAS GenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rusk County, Texas. Page 673 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
| This Texas-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2013, at 02:23.
- This page has been accessed 1,742 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More