Rusk County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Rusk County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Rusk County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Rusk County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1901
County Seat Ladysmith
Courthouse
Address Rusk County Courthouse
311 Miner Ave East;
Ladysmith, WI 54848-1862
Phone: 715.532.2100
Rusk County Courthouse
WI Rusk.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Rusk County Courthouse
311 Miner Ave East;
Ladysmith, WI 54848-1862
Phone: 715.532.2100

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, and land records
from 1872; County Court has divorce, proabte and court records [1]

RUSK COUNTY REGISTER OF DEEDS 311 Miner Ave E., Suite N 132 Ladysmith, WI 54848

Web site: www.ruskcounty.org PHONE:(715)532-2139 FAX:(715)532-2194

Historical Facts

Parent County

1905 - Rusk County was created 19 June 1905 by the renaming of Gates County. County seat: Ladysmith [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

http://www.wisconline.com/counties/rusk/

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

http://www.wisconline.com/counties/rusk/

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Rusk County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 3,413 times.