Rutland County, VermontEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Rutland County Vermont ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Vermont Gotoarrow.png Rutland County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Vermont
Online Records
Rutland County, Vermont
Map
Map of Vermont highlighting Rutland County
Location in the state of Vermont
Facts
Founded February 22, 1781
County Seat Ruthland
Courthouse
Address Rutland County Courthouse
83 Center Street, Rutland, VT 05701-4017
802-775-4394
Fax: 802-775-2291
Rutland County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Secretary of State Office, Montpelier has birth, marriage, and death records 1760-1955 and divorce records 1760-1968; Town Clerks  have land records from 1826; County Clerk  has land records 1779-1826 and court records; Probate Court  has probate records.

Towns Organized Before 1800:
Benson 1780,
Brandon 1761,
Castleton 1761,
Chittenden 1780,
Clarendon 1761,
Danby 1761,
Fair Haven 1779,
Hubbardton 1764,
Ira 1781,
Mendon 1781,
Middletown Springs 1784,
Mt. Holly 1792,
Mt. Tabor 1761,
Pawlet 1761,
 Pittsford 1761,
Poultney 1761,
Rutland 1761,
Sherburn 1761,
Shrewsbury 1761,
Sudbury 1763,
Wallingford 1761,
Wells 1761,
West Haven 1792[1]

Brief History

Parent County

  • Created 22 February 1781 from the Colonial lands. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Vermont County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Vermont County Boundary Maps" (1764-1895) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Places / Localities

VermontNew YorkRutland CountyBennington CountyWindham CountyWindsor CountyOrange CountyAddison CountyEssex CountyWashington CountyBensonWest HavenFair HavenSudburyBrandonHubbardtonPittsfordChittendenPittsfieldCastletonWest RutlandProctorRutlandMendonKillingtonPoultneyIraClarendonShrewsburyMiddletown SpringsWellsTinmouthWallingfordMount HollyPawletDanbyMount TaborRupertDorsetManchesterPeruWindhallLandgroveLondonderryWindhamGraftonWestonAndoverChesterLudlowCavendishReadingPlymouthBridgewaterBernardStockbridgeBethelRochesterRandolphBraintreeGranvilleHancockRiptonGoshenMiddleburySalisburyLeicesterCornwallWhitingBridgeportShorehamOrwellArgyleHebronHartfordGranvilleFort AnnWhitehallHamptonDresdenPutnamHagueTiconderogaCrown Point
Modern town borders in Rutland County, Vermont.

City:

Towns:

Extinct Town:

  • Philadelphia[2]

Village:

  • Poultney

Communities:

  • Brandon
  • Fair Haven
  • Wallingford

Neighboring Counties

Addison | Bennington | Windsor | Washington County, New York

Resources

Cemeteries

Church Records

Court Records

Gazetteers

Land and Property

Local Histories

Maps

Vtrutland.jpg

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 5th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies G, H and I

Newspapers

Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has North Adams, MA newspapers (1895-1977) covering local news that included Rutland County residents.

Probate Records

There are two Rutland County Probate Districts

  • Rutland District - Brandon, Chittenden, Clarenden, Danby, Ira, Mendon, Middletown Springs, Mount Holly, Mount Tabor, Pittsfield, Pittsford, Rutland, Sherburne, Shrewsbury, Tinmouth, Wallingford and West Rutland.
  • Fair Haven District - Benson, Castleton, Fair Haven, Hubbardton, Pawlet, Poultney, Sudbury, Wells and West Haven.

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Vermont Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Vermont <a title="Vermont Birth Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/birth_form.aspx" target="_blank">Birth Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Marriage Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/marriage_form.aspx" target="_blank">Marriage Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Divorce Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/divorce_form.aspx" target="_blank">Divorce Certificate</a>, <a title="Vermont Death Certificate Application" href="http://www.healthvermont.gov/research/records/deathcert_form.aspx" target="_blank">Death Certificate</a> Applications to mail.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Vermont Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Rutland Historical Society Inc.
96 Center Street
Rutland, VT 05701-4023
Phone: (802) 775-2006
Email - president@rutlandhistory.com
Website: http://www.rutlandhistory.com/

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 6999 Rutland County, Vermont. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 20:28.
  • This page has been accessed 8,539 times.