Ruyton-XI-Towns, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Gotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Ruyton in the Eleven Towns, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ruyton-XI-Towns, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oswestry
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Oswestry PLU
Registration District Oswestry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1719
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ellesmere
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Ruyton-of-the-Eleven-Towns
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1848 - RUYTON-in-the-Eleven-Towns (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the hundred of Oswestry, N.division of Shropshire, 8 miles (N. W.) from Shrewsbury. There is a place of worship for Independents.[1]

Ruyton-XI-Towns (sometimes Ruyton of the Eleven Towns), is a village and parish in Shropshire, England and forms part of the Borough of Oswestry.

The village was created by the Fitz Alan family in the early 13th century when they built a castle there. This castle became the manor for the eleven local townships of Coton, Eardiston, Haughton, Rednal, Ruyton, Shelvock, Shotatton, Sutton, Tedsmore, West Felton and Wykey. Some of these still survive as hamlets today.

Lying in a vulnerable position in the Welsh Marches, disputed territory between England and Wales, the castle was destroyed in 1202, rebuilt by 1313, and destroyed again later by the armies of Owain Glyndŵr.

The parish church of St. John the Baptist is an ancient stone structure with a tower, but the original building is thought to date back to the 1130s. It was restored and enlarged in 1845

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474587.

The parish of Ruyton-XI-Towns was part of the Oswestry Registration District.

Church Records

The following records of Ruyton-XI-Towns are available on the IGI:

Type Years Batch Number
Baptisms 1813-1858 C006592
Baptisms 1630-1714 C006593
Marriages 1719-1812 M006591
Marriages 1813-1837 M006592
Marriages 1630-1714 M006593
Mixed 1719-1812 P006491
Mixed   E006593

Ruyton XI Towns parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IARC = Internet Archive - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
MLOC = Mel Lockie website - free
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[7]
RUYTON IN THE ELEVEN TOWNS PARISH (1630) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1719-1812

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IARC 1719-1812
1719-1812
1719-1812
IGI 1630-1858 1630-1837
JOIN
1719-1812

MLOC 1719-1812
1719-1812
1719-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1630-1858 Marr 1630-1837 Bur 1630-1858 Missing all events 1852-1853

Nonconformist Church Records

 

Civil Records

The parish of Ruyton-XI-Towns became part of the Oswestry Registration District on its formation in 1837. Entries for births, marriages or deaths in Ruyton-XI-Towns will appear in the GRO Indexes as:

Years District Volumes
1 Jul 1837 - 1974 Oswestry XVIII (1837-51)
6a (1852-1946)
9A (1946-74)

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/RuytonOfTheElevenTowns/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 719-725. Date accessed: 09 July 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 25 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 September 2013.
  7. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 2,153 times.