Ryde Holy Trinity, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Ryde Holy Trinity

Guide to Ryde Holy Trinity, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ryde Holy Trinity, Hampshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Medina Liberty
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Isle of Wight PLU
Registration District Isle of Wight
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East Medine
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

RYDE, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Newchurch, liberty of East Medina, Isle of Wight division of the county of Southampton, 7 miles (E. N. E.) from Newport, 5 (S.) from Portsmouth across the Solent, and 77 (S. W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Ryde Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
RYDE HOLY TRINITY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1885-1906

BOYD
1719-1754, 1811-1837

Ryde parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

RYDE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1860-1907
1872-1906

FS
1719-1837

PALL
1811-1837

Ryde All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

RYDE ALL SAINTS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1865-1906


PRTS
1719-1754, 1811-1837

Ryde St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

RYDE ST JOHN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1892-1910


Ryde St Michael parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

RYDE ST MICHAEL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1862-1906
1865-1906

Ryde St Thomas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

RYDE ST THOMAS PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1719-1787, 1829-1865, 1876-1906
1719-1872

Haven-Street chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

HAVEN-STREET PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1541-1574, 1745, 1842, 1847-1865


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288806.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 719-725. Date accessed: 07 June 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 24 September 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,410 times.